Go to Section or Dept. Name home
 

ARTH 491: Nineteenth Century British Art

FAL web page: www.lib.virginia.edu/fine-arts/

Search strategies: academy, histor*, portraiture, architecture, victorian
women, labour, landscape, antiqu*, taste, museums
England, British, nineteenth, renaissance, preraphaelite

Databases

BHA

Covering European and American art from late antiquity (ca. 300 A. D.) to the present, the Bibliography of the History of Art indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals.

Keywords: academy histor*

ArtBibliographies Modern

Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern (late 19th century) and contemporary art, including photography since its invention. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.

Advanced Search:  british AND portrait* AND nineteenth

Art Index

Art Index is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. In addition to articles, Art Index indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Art Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. Art Full-Text indexing coverage begins 1984.

Choose Art Retro and Art FullText
Advanced Search:  labour AND landscape

Historical Abstracts

Indexes articles written on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).

Keyword:taste
Subject: museums
Time Period browse: 18

Periodicals Index Online (PIO)   and Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)

PIO and PAO are an electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from 1770 to 1995.

JStor

Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals in areas such as anthropology, asian studies, ecology, economics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, sociology, and statistics. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.

LION - Literature Online 

The "Criticism and Reference" search includes the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature and references from articles and books. Many cited journals are available in full text. LION also includes the full text of many works from American and British literature.

Websites

English Web Resources

This page is a fine listing of access points for English literature compiled by the English Subject Librarian in Alderman Library.

Grove Art Online

Great resource for images and a starting point for research on an artist.

National Portrait Gallery, London

The William Morris Home Page

Information about the worldwide William Morris Society; materials relating to the life and work of Morris, his friends and followers; and links to other places of interest on the Internet.

The Complete Writings and Pictures of Dante Gabriel Rossetti: A Hypermedia Research Archive

UVA Etext Center Collections - English

 

Print Resources

Dictionary of British Artists (FA-REF N6767 .J63)
A Companion to Victorian and Edwardian Artists (FA-REF ND496 .V65 1991)
Works Submitted at the Royal Society of British Artists 1824-1893 (FA-REF N6767 .J64) v.1-2
R.B.A. Exhibitors, 1824/92 (FA-REF ND467 .B72) v.1-4
Royal Academy Exhibitors, 1905-1970 (FA-REF N6798 .R69 1985) v.1-6
Dictionary of British Art: Victorian Painters (FA-REF N6796 .D53 1990) v.4, pt.2
The Dictionary of British Watercolour Artists up to 1920 (FA-REF ND1928 .M27 2002), v.1-2
The Dictionary of Portrait Painters in Britain up to 1920 (FA-REF ND1314 .S84 1997)
Subject Catalogue of Paintings in Public Collections: London (FA-REF ND45 .S94 1989) v.1-2

 

Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu

Top of page | Back to Art Classroom | Back to User Instruction



University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113, Charlottesville, VA 22904-4113
ph: (434) 924-3021, fax: (434) 924-1431, library@virginia.edu

Text Version    |   Libraries   |   Depts./Contacts   |  U.Va. Home   |   ITC

Website Feedback   |   Search   |   Questions? Ask a Librarian   |   Hours   |   Map   |   Policies   |   Jobs

Tracking Opt-out    |   © by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Federal Library Depository logo  This library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the Government documents is guaranteed by public law.