Go to

Hours: Mon.-Thu. 9 a.m. to 11 p.m. | Fri. 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.
Sat. 1 p.m. to 6 p.m. | Sun. 1 p.m. to 11 p.m.
UVa Libraries Hours : August 25 - December 8, 2009

Contact: (434) 924-6938 or finearts@virginia.edu

Home | Contact Us | Where We Are

 
Go to Fiske Kimball Fine Arts Library home

ARH 500 Library Methods

Databases and RefWorks

Avery Index - [truncation = ?]

The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present. The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals is updated daily. It is the most important database for Architectural History. Allows simple and advanced searches as well as the ability to limit and refine those searches. There is no need to ever use the term 'architecture' in your searches.

 

Simple search Subject Word formalism  
Simple search Keyword architecture iconography  
Advanced search Keyword architecture AND Subject Word formalism
Advanced search Subject Word arts and crafts AND Subject Word united states

Art Index - [*]

Art Retrospective indexes the 1929-1984 issues of 300 arts, architecture, design, and performance arts periodicals. Art FullText adds indexing and abstracts for 375 recent (1984-present) titles, with fulltext for 100 current titles.

ADVANCED SEARCH

Click Art Full Text and Art Retrospective
architecture and modernism and gender as All - Smart Search

Try these out:

1. Architecture and history and American

2. Formalist and culture

3. Architecture and iconography

4.Germany and modernism

5. Loos and criticism

ArtBibliographiesModern - [*]

Includes citations and abstracts for books, dissertations, exhibition catalogs, and articles from 1500 journals. Subjects covered include 20th century art history and criticism, design, photography (from 1839), architecture, and visual culture.

SIMPLE SEARCH

1. Gothic architecture, as keywords, as exact phrase
2. Norman Foster, as keywords, as exact phrase, 2000-2003
3. Wilson, Richard, as author, all years

ADVANCED SEARCH

Keyword architecture AND Subject artist gehry AND Descriptors Europe
Abstract gothic or medieval AND Journal Name Art Bulletin  
Keyword arts and crafts AND Descriptors American  

(BHA) Bibliography of the History of Art - [?]

Covering European and American art from late antiquity (ca. 300 AD) to the present, the Bibliography of the History of Art indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals. The Bibliography of the History of Art is updated quarterly and covers 1973 to the present. It is primarily an art database but does include architecture, architectural history and landscape architecture. The term 'architecture' can be helpful in this database but is not always necessary.

 

Simple search Keywords romanticism European architecture  
Simple search Keywords national romanticism  
Simple search Subject Word garden cit?  
Advanced search Subject Word garden cit? AND LIMIT to 1990-2003
Advanced search Keyword arts and crafts movement AND Keyword England
Advanced search Subject werkbund AND Keyword industrial design

Can limit searches by publication date, language

 

Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu

Top of page | Back to Methods Guides | Back to Architecture Classroom | Back to User Instruction



University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113, Charlottesville, VA 22904-4113
ph: (434) 924-3021, fax: (434) 924-1431, library@virginia.edu

Text Version   |   Libraries   |   Depts./Contacts   |  U.Va. Home   |   ITC

Website Feedback   |   Search   |   Questions? Ask a Librarian   |   Hours   |   Map   |   Policies   |   Press   |   Jobs

© by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia