Go to Section or Dept. Name home
 

ARCH/LAR 801 and ARCH 401

VIRGO [truncation=$]

It is always necessary to begin your searches by searching the U.Va. catalogues for books. The keys to a successful VIRGO search are to choose the correct index and to choose a search type which is most inclusive at the beginning. The search can then be limited to be more precise.

There are three ways of searching VIRGO:

1-Keyword, a specific word or words relating to your topic.

2-First Words, the first words of your topic or title.

3-Exact, the exact words you are looking for such as an exact title or a specific name.

Within these categories there are several ways to construct your search. It is important to remember that VIRGO uses boolean operators (and/or/not) and that they are essential in constructing your searches. Also, VIRGO uses '$' as its truncation symbol. When searching VIRGO always choose 'ALL' Libraries. You do not want to eliminate the very important work that may be housed in Alderman or Clemons.

There are six indices within VIRGO:

1-Keyword anywhere - The broadest searching mechanism; looks for the words or phrases in the title, description, author field or anywhere in the record of the book.

2-Author - Searches only the author field of the record. This can prove a difficult search if the authors name is common (Smith, John) or if the author's name can be spelled several ways (as with some foreign names). If you do not know how the author spells his/her last name you may not be successful.

3-Title - Searches for words or phrases found only in the title eliminating what may be found in a description of the book.

4-Subject - This searches specifically for Library of Congress Subject Headings not a general subject. This can be a tricky search unless you are familiar with LC headings.

5-MeSH - Medical Subject Headings will not be applicable for an art topic.

6-Journal Title - Searches for all Journal Titles in the U.Va. collection. When searching for a specific Journal Title always eliminate any article at the beginning of the title (The, A, Le, L').

Databases

Searching in periodical databases will retrieve the most recent scholarship on your subject. Remember to tailor your search to your choice of database.

Art Index - [*]

Art Index Retrospective indexes the 1929-1984 issues of 300 arts, architecture, design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Art FullText adds indexing and abstracts for 375 recent (1984-present) titles, with full text for 100 current titles.

 

Advanced search: Meudon and Prouve and houses – all smart
embryologic house
prefabricated houses AND climate

Avery Index - [?]

The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present. The Avery Index is updated daily.

Sample searches:

Subject word: gropius and Subject word: housing
  sukiya    
  Pope-Leighey    
  modular construction and Subject word: housing

EiCompendex

Large interdisciplinary engineering database, Ei Compendex*Plus covers journals, technical reports and conferences, and adds over 220,000 new abstracts each year. Includes book reviews.

Keyword: modular construction housing costs

Keyword: thermal building construction

JStor

Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals in areas such as anthropology, asian studies, ecology, economics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, sociology, and statistics. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.

Newspapers

Lexis / Nexis Academic Universe - [!]

click on News || and then General News || Guided News Search

 

Sample search: modular housing and costs

Also check Alderman Library for back-runs of newspapers such as the Daily Progress and other local newspapers not available electronically.

WEB SITES

ProFile

Listing of architects and architectural firms in the US and Canada.

See the listing on Online Resources for Architecture on the Fine Arts Library Web Site

 

Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu

Top of page | Back to Architecture Classroom | Back to User Instruction



University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113, Charlottesville, VA 22904-4113
ph: (434) 924-3021, fax: (434) 924-1431, library@virginia.edu

Text Version    |   Libraries   |   Depts./Contacts   |  U.Va. Home   |   ITC

Website Feedback   |   Search   |   Questions? Ask a Librarian   |   Hours   |   Map   |   Policies   |   Jobs

Tracking Opt-out    |   © by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Federal Library Depository logo  This library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the Government documents is guaranteed by public law.