Go to Section or Dept. Name home
 

LAR 601: Landscape Architecture Design

Search Strategies for Paintings of Landscape

It is often most useful to begin your research by looking at the major Art History survey texts. One or more of the following print sources may be used in your class. They provide a great resource for placing your work in the broader art historical context and often provide a brief bibliography in your chosen field.

Gardner, Helen. Gardner 's Art Through The Ages, 11th ed. Fort Worth , TX : Harcourt College Publishers, 2001. (FA-REF N5300 .G25 2001)

Janson, H.W. and Anthony F. Janson. History of Art, 6th ed. London : Thames and Hudson, 2001. (FA-OVERSIZE N5300 .J3 2001b)

Stokstad, Marilyn. Art History, 2nd ed. New York : Prentice-Hall, 2002. (FA-OVERSIZE N5300 .S923 2002, vols. 1-2)

Havlice, Patricia Pate. World Painting Index. (FA-REF ND45.H38)

Databases

Searching in periodical databases will retrieve the most recent scholarship on the subject.  Remember to tailor your search to your choice of database.

VIRGO [truncation=$]

 

Simple search: First words subject goncharova
  Keyword subject asher durand
  First words, subject richter, g

 

Art Index - [*]

 

Choose: Art Retro and Art FullText
Search: egon schiele and landscape
Search: piet mondrian and landscape
Search: woods near oele and mondrian

 

(BHA) Bibliography of the History of Art - [?]

 

Simple search: Keyword: paul klee and landscape
Advanced search: subject word: klimt and subject word: landscape?

Grove Art Online

Similar to a survey text, the Dictionary of Art Online provides encyclopedia style information on most topics and artists relevant to the art world. This is not a place to go to find specific articles, but rather general information about your work of art that might point you in a direction for your later research.

Images

These are the web-based image banks in which to search for the works of art that are available in digital format. Thus, the search is most productive by artist.

Dictionary of Art

Use the Bridgeman Art Image Collection, to search click on Search and enter either an artist, a work of art, or a keyword describing your work.

AltaVista -- "Images" Search Option

Ask Jeeves

Google -- "Images" Search Option

Web Gallery of Art

WebMuseum

 

Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu

Top of page | Back to Architecture Classroom | Back to User Instruction



University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113, Charlottesville, VA 22904-4113
ph: (434) 924-3021, fax: (434) 924-1431, library@virginia.edu

Text Version    |   Libraries   |   Depts./Contacts   |  U.Va. Home   |   ITC

Website Feedback   |   Search   |   Questions? Ask a Librarian   |   Hours   |   Map   |   Policies   |   Jobs

Tracking Opt-out    |   © by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Federal Library Depository logo  This library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the Government documents is guaranteed by public law.