Go to Section or Dept. Name home
 

Architecture Guides

LAR 601: Landscape Architecture Design

Familiar landforms: etymology, meaning, symbolic content, images

Databases

Searching in periodical databases will retrieve the most recent scholarship on the subject.� Remember to tailor your search to your choice of database.

Oxford English Dictionary

Use this to find word definitions, etymological meanings, and usage

VIRGO:

 

Quick search: keyword subject landform
landforms
landforms and landscape
  keyword title landscape architecture dictionary
Advanced search: subject landscape architecture and landscape design

Avery Index:

The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present. The Avery Index is updated daily.

 

Basic search as Subject Word: topography
topography symbol?
  topograph? and symbol?

BHA:

Basic Search as Subject Word: topography and landscape
landscape and symbolism
landscape painting representation

Grove Art Online:

Similar to a survey text, Grove Art Online provides encyclopedia style information on most topics and artists relevant to the art world. This is not a place to go to find specific articles, but rather general information about your work of art that might point you in a direction for your later research.

 

Advanced search (full text): landscape architecture and symbolism
landscape architecture and design and symbolism
topography and landscape and symbolism

Maps

Scholar's Lab at UVA

 

Online Resources and Web Sites

Google Scholar: landscape architecture design

Fine Arts Library Image Collection

ARTstor

ASLA-American Society of Landscape Architects

Catena Digital Archive of Historic Gardens + Landscapes

Library of Congress American Memory Database

Search across all collections: landform, landscape

Landscape Architecture Image Resource

 

 

Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu

Top of page | Back to Architecture Resources | Back to Architecture Classroom | Back to User Instruction



University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113, Charlottesville, VA 22904-4113
ph: (434) 924-3021, fax: (434) 924-1431, library@virginia.edu

Text Version    |   Libraries   |   Depts./Contacts   |  U.Va. Home   |   ITC

Website Feedback   |   Search   |   Questions? Ask a Librarian   |   Hours   |   Map   |   Policies   |   Jobs

Tracking Opt-out    |   © by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Federal Library Depository logo  This library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the Government documents is guaranteed by public law.