Go to Section or Dept. Name home
 

ARAH 563 - MESDA Summer Institute: Chesapeake

FAL web page
www.lib.virginia.edu/fine-arts/

NC Live
http://www.nclive.org/authhome.phtml?top_page=browse&page=2#W

Continuing Education Resource Page
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/conted/

Google Scholar
http://scholar.google.com/

Search strategies:

painting, pottery, decorative arts, architecture, material culture
planter/plantation, mill, quarters, manor, church, house
eighteenth, Baltimore, south/southern, Chesapeake, tidewater
brick, frame, plan$, vernacular, sacred

Databases

America History and Life covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present and has almost 400,000 citations from 2,000 key English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals 1860-present. Indexes 2000+ jounals covering all aspects of architecture.

BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art) covers European and American art from late antiquity (ca. 300 AD) to the present and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals.

Art Index indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. In addition to articles, Art Index indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.

Smithsonian Institution Archives and Inventories includes the Art Inventories which provide information on over 335,000 artworks in public and private collections worldwide.

American Periodicals Series Online 1740-1900 can find articles from 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing in America between 1740 and 1900.

Eighteenth Century Collections Online is a digital archive of 150,000 printed works from the 18th century.

JStor searches the full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.

 

Web Sites

American Decorative Arts
http://www.metmuseum.org/education/er_online_links/er_ad.htm

Craftsman Database
http://www.mesda.org/education/cdintro.htm

Documenting the American South
http://docsouth.unc.edu

Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture – University of Wisconsin, Madison
http://decorativearts.library.wisc.edu/images.html

History Dept. University of North Carolina-Greensboro
http://www.uncg.edu/~rmcalhoo/jbs

History Matters: The U.S. Survey Course on the Web
http://historymatters.gmu.edu/browse/wwwhistory/

Library of Virginia
http://www.lva.lib.va.us/

Library of Congress: American Memory
http://memory.loc.gov/

Making of America
http://cdl.library.cornell.edu/moa/

Maryland Historical Society
http://www.mdhs.org/

Maryland State Archives
http://www.msa.md.gov/

Resources for Pennsylvania and Delaware
http://www.math.udel.edu/~rstevens/datasets.html

Society of Architectural Historians
http://www.sah.org/articles.html

Society of Early Americanists
http://www.humanities.uci.edu/mclark/resource.htm

Southern Historical Collection at University of North Carolina-CH
http://www.lib.unc.edu/mss/shc/index.html

Vernacular Architecture Forum
http://departments.mwc.edu/hipr/www/vafbib.htm

Museums and House Museums

Baltimore Museum of Art
http://www.artbma.org/

Colonial Williamsburg - John D. Rockefeller Library
http://research.history.org/JDRLibrary.cfm

Cooper-Hewitt National Design Museum
http://cooperhewitt.org/

Edenton, NC
http://www.edenton.com/

Gunston Hall
http://www.gunstonhall.org/

Jamestown - APVA
http://www.apva.org/

Jamestown - Virtual Jamestown
http://www.virtualjamestown.org/

Kenmore - Betty Washington Lewis and her husband Colonel Fielding Lewis
http://www.kenmore.org/

North Carolina Museum of History
http://ncmuseumofhistory.org/

National Museum of American History Library
http://www.sil.si.edu/libraries/nmah/

St. Mary’s City
http://www.stmaryscity.org/

Stratford Hall
http://www.stratfordhall.org/

Tryon Palace
http://www.tryonpalace.org/

Winterthur
http://www.winterthur.org/research/library_resources.asp

Worcester Art Museum Library
http://www.worcesterart.org/Collection/library.html

 

Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu

Top of page | Back to Art Classroom | Back to User Instruction



University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113, Charlottesville, VA 22904-4113
ph: (434) 924-3021, fax: (434) 924-1431, library@virginia.edu

Text Version    |   Libraries   |   Depts./Contacts   |  U.Va. Home   |   ITC

Website Feedback   |   Search   |   Questions? Ask a Librarian   |   Hours   |   Map   |   Policies   |   Jobs

Tracking Opt-out    |   © by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Federal Library Depository logo  This library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the Government documents is guaranteed by public law.