Art Guides
ARTH 491: Imagining America's West
Search Strategies
west, landscape, wilderness, cowboy, nature, prairie
progress, railroad, race, homestead, civilization, plains
Nineteenth, American, Navaho, Sioux, Native American, American Indian
VIRGO - Keyword landscape and west not architecture$
Databases
BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art) covers European and American art from late antiquity (ca. 300 AD) to the present and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals.
| Sample Advanced Search: | KEYWORD America? | AND KEYWORD landscape
REFINE nineteenth |
Art Index indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Index indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
| keyword: | (American Indian or Native American) and photograph*
|
Smithsonian Institution Archives and Inventories
The Smithsonian American Art Museum has established a comprehensive listing: the Inventory of American Paintings and Sculpture. Together, the Art Inventories provide information on over 335,000 artworks in public and private collections worldwide. Information is compiled from a variety of sources, including published catalogues, collection checklists, reports from collectors, journals and magazines, and preservation inventories.
Choose Art Inventories
| Artist | Edmonia Lewis
Albert Bierstadt Charles Russell |
America History and Life covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present and has almost 400,000 citations from 2,000 key English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.
Choose Advanced search:
| keyword
subject time period |
art
american indian 1800H (use the browse list) |
Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals in areas such as anthropology, asian studies, ecology, economics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, sociology, and statistics. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.
Images
Web Sites
Smithsonian American Art Museum
http://www.nmaa.si.edu/
The Gilcrease Museum
http://www.gilcrease.org/index2.html
Eiteljorg Museum of American Indians and Western Art
http://www.eiteljorg.org/index2.html
U.S. Capitol Historical Society
http://www.uschs.org/
National Museum of the American Indian (NMAI)
http://www.nmai.si.edu/
National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum
http://www.cowboyhalloffame.org/
Buffalo Bill Historical Center
http://www.bbhc.org/
Library of Congress: American Memory
http://memory.loc.gov/
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/ECCO?locID=viva_uva
Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800
http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/accessible/
Resources for Pennsylvania and Delaware
http://www.math.udel.edu/~rstevens/datasets.html
Finding Contemporary Artists on the Web: American Indian Artists
http://www.lib.virginia.edu/fine-arts/guides/newart2.html
Print Resources
Index to 19th Century Periodicals, 7 vols. (FA-REF N6510.S35 1999)
The Boston Art Club Record 1873-1909 (FA-REF N6510.C43 1991)
The Annual Exhibition Record of the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts, 3 vols. (FA-REF N6505.A64 1988)
Who Was Who in American Art, 1564-1975, 3 vols. (FA-REF N6536.W56 1999)
The National Museum of American Art's Index to American Art Exhibition Catalogues: From the Beginning through the 1876, 6 vols. (FA-REF N6507 .Y363 1986)
Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu
Top of page | Back to Art Classroom | Back to User Instruction