Go to Section or Dept. Name home
 

ARTH 491: Art of the Silk Road

FAL web page: http://www.lib.virginia.edu/fine-arts/index.html

 

Search strategies: sculpture, painting, temple, Dunhang, Han, silk
buddhist, imperial, religion, "silk road"
China/Chinese, Mongol, Sogdian, central Asia

VIRGO - Keyword chinese and painting and landscape

 

Databases

(BAS) Bibliography of Asian Studies

References western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.

Art Index

Indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world since 1929.�

Avery Index

The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Coverage is from the 1930s

Historical Abstracts

Indexes articles written on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). This ABC-CLIO database includes over 500,000 annotated entries referencing articles published in over 2,000 journals published throughout the world. Includes book reviews.

JStor

Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals in areas such as anthropology, asian studies, ecology, economics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, sociology, and statistics. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.

 

Web Resources

Huntington Archive of Buddhist and Related Art

UVa East Asia Center

Includes links to sites on Asian studies throughout the world.

 

Museum Web Sites

Digital Library and Museum of Buddhist Studies -- "A truly 'Comprehensive Cyberspace for Buddhist Studies' "

Musee Guimet

Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery of Art

 

Print Resources

Dictionary of Buddhist Iconography, v. 1-2 (FA-REF N8193.A4 L644 1999)
Encyclopedia of Asian Culture (FA-REF DS12 .E53 1999)
The Cambridge History of China, 2 vols. (FA-REF DS735 .C3145)
The Cambridge History of Ancient China (FA-REF DS741.5 .C35 1999)

Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu

Top of page | Back to Art Classroom | Back to User Instruction



University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113, Charlottesville, VA 22904-4113
ph: (434) 924-3021, fax: (434) 924-1431, library@virginia.edu

Text Version    |   Libraries   |   Depts./Contacts   |  U.Va. Home   |   ITC

Website Feedback   |   Search   |   Questions? Ask a Librarian   |   Hours   |   Map   |   Policies   |   Jobs

Tracking Opt-out    |   © by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Federal Library Depository logo  This library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the Government documents is guaranteed by public law.