Go to Section or Dept. Name home
 

ARH 101: History of Architecture: Ancient to Medieval

Navigate.....the library

Fine Arts Library homepage

Lorenza Amico - lorenza@virginia.edu - 924-6607
Lucie Stylianopoulos - lws4n@virginia.edu - 924-6604

Find.....your search strategy

This class is designed as a companion to the ARCH 101 Orientation where you explored Virgo and more general architecture resources. Now, explore your topic and develop a strategy for finding information. What are the most important aspects?

VIRGO

Google/Google Scholar

Ex. Topic: Parthenon

subject: Athens
keyword: architecture or building
temple$
religious or civic
other terms: classical, pericles, peristyle, acropolis

Investigate.......your subject

For the most recent information on your topic, look for journal articles. These can be found in the periodical databases covering your subject. For more, see the list of Databases on the FAL homepage.

Grove Art Online

keyword: Rome
keyword: Paris

Dyabola

keyword: parthenon

Avery Index

keyword: cordoba
keyword: mosque

BHA

Covering European and American art from late antiquity (ca. 300 AD) to the present, the Bibliography of the History of Art indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals. The Bibliography of the History of Art is updated quarterly and covers 1973 to the present.

keyword: chartres cathedral
keyword: hagia sophia

Perseus

Contains extensive and diverse resources including primary and secondary texts, site plans, digital images, and maps. Art and archaeology catalogs document a wide range of objects: over 1,500 vases, over 1,800 sculptures and sculptural groups, over 1,200 coins, hundreds of buildings from nearly 100 sites and over 100 gems.

keyword: bassae
keyword: Didyma

Art Index

Choose both Art Index and Art Index Retro for complete coverage. Art Index covers periodical literature from throughout the world and is a good place to search for articles on Asian architecture. This database will have some full text.

keyword: nara
keyword: temple*

Bibliography of Asian Studies

Lists journal articles and book chapters on all subjects related to Asia. Most articles are in western languages. Includes book reviews.

keyword: forbidden city
keyword: beijing

Historical Abstracts   1954-present

Indexes articles written on the history of the world from 1450 to the present, covering articles published in over 2,000 journals published throughout the world. Includes book reviews. Does not include articles about the US or Canada.

PIO: Periodicals Index Online   1665-present

Search for articles and book reviews in over 4000 international humanities and social sciences journals published from 1770 to the 1990s. Includes links to full text of articles in Periodicals Archive Online and in humanities and social science titles at JSTOR.

JStor

Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals in areas such as anthropology, asian studies, ecology, economics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, sociology, and statistics. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.

Locate.........more material online

FAL Online Resources

FAL Archaeology Pathfinder

Locate ..........Print Resources

A selective sampling of reference titles for this period:

Dictionary of Islamic Architecture (FA-REF NA380 .P46 1996)
Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium, 3 vols. (FA-REF DF521 .O97 1991)
Pictorial Dictionary of Ancient Athens (FA-REF NA280 .T68 1971)
Pictorial Dictionary of Ancient Rome (FA-REF NA310 .N28 1968 )

Assignment Questions

1. In Grove Art Online, who wrote the article on San Vitale?

2. In what journal would you find an article by Peter Kidson on Bourges Cathedral? What is the title of the article?

3. How many articles are there in the Avery Index on Queen Hatshepsut's temple?

4.What temple did Alexander finance in Priene? Which source did you use for this answer?

5. What is the title and subject of Gordon Taylor's article on the Alhambra?

6. What is the name of the article by J.C. Rathbun on Baalbek? In what journal is it published? Which source did you use to find it?

 

Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu
Lorenza Amico | 924.6607 | lorenza@virginia.edu

Top of page | Back to Architecture Classroom | Back to User Instruction




University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113, Charlottesville, VA 22904-4113
ph: (434) 924-3021, fax: (434) 924-1431, library@virginia.edu

Text Version    |   Libraries   |   Depts./Contacts   |  U.Va. Home   |   ITC

Website Feedback   |   Search   |   Questions? Ask a Librarian   |   Hours   |   Map   |   Policies   |   Jobs

Tracking Opt-out    |   © by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Federal Library Depository logo  This library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the Government documents is guaranteed by public law.