Go to Section or Dept. Name home
 

ARTH 491: History and Connoisseurship of Old Master Drawings and Prints

FAL web page: www.lib.virginia.edu/fine-arts/

Search strategies: etching, print, drawing, engraving, woodcut, gravure, estampe, incisione, emblema, monogram
provenance, connoisseurship, school, genre, landscape
Dutch, Netherlandish, Renaissance, France

VIRGO - Keyword dutch and drawing$

 

Databases

(BHA) Bibliography of the History of Art

Covering European and American art from late antiquity (ca. 300 AD) to the present, the Bibliography of the History of Art indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals. The Bibliography of the History of Art is updated quarterly and covers 1973 to the present.

Advanced Search: KEYWORD rembrandt
AND KEYWORD etching?

Art Index

Art Index is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Index indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.

Advanced Search: KEYWORD netherlandish
KEYWORD print

Historical Abstracts

Indexes articles written on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). This ABC-CLIO database includes over 500,000 annotated entries referencing articles published in over 2,000 journals published throughout the world. Includes book reviews.

Advanced Search: All Index Terms print*
Subject Dutch
Century 16

Index of Christian Art

Records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400.

Simple Search:
All fields
KEYWORD saint thomas
KEYWORD crucifixion

JStor

Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals in areas such as anthropology, asian studies, ecology, economics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, sociology, and statistics. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.

 

E-Images

ARTstor

Illustrated Bartsch search: cats

Grove Art Online

Article Search: cranach

Bridgeman

Simple search: durer and woodcut

 

Print Materials

Collections and Indices

Iconclass Indexes: Martin Schongauer and His School (FA-REF NE 90 .I363 v.1)
Iconclass Indexes: Albrecht Durer and His Time (FA-REF NE 90 .I363 v.2-3)
Iconclass Indexes: Dutch Prints (FA-REF NE 90 .I362 v.7-8)
Iconclass Indexes: Marcantonio Raimondi and his School (FA-REF NE 90 .I365 v.2)
Iconclass Indexes: Italian Prints, the Seventeenth century (FA-REF NE 90 .I365 v.4)
Iconclass Indexes: Rembrandt and His School (FA-REF ND 646 .I27 v.1-4)
Le peintre-graveur and The Illustrated Bartsch (FA-OVERSIZE NE90 .B213)
Hollstein Dutch and Flemish Engravings (FA-OVERSIZE NE663 .H6 / 65)
Biographisch Woordenboek van Noord Nederlandsche Graveurs (FA-REF NE 667 .W3 1974)
Emblemata and Emblemata Supplement (FA-REF N7740 .H53)
Catalogue of Works of Dutch Painters (FA-REF ND 646 .H63 1976)

Iconography

Marle. Iconographie de l'art profane (FA-REF N5970 .M35 1971)
Pigler. Barockthemen (FA-REF N6415 .B3P5 1974 v.1-3)
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography (FA-REF N7565 .E53 1998 v.1-2)
James. The Apocryphal New Testament (FA-REF BS 2832 .J3 1924)
Apocrypha and Pseudepigrapha of the Old Testament in English (FA-REF BS 1692 1913 v.1-2)

 

Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu

Top of page | Back to Art Classroom | Back to User Instruction



University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113, Charlottesville, VA 22904-4113
ph: (434) 924-3021, fax: (434) 924-1431, library@virginia.edu

Text Version    |   Libraries   |   Depts./Contacts   |  U.Va. Home   |   ITC

Website Feedback   |   Search   |   Questions? Ask a Librarian   |   Hours   |   Map   |   Policies   |   Jobs

Tracking Opt-out    |   © by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Federal Library Depository logo  This library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the Government documents is guaranteed by public law.