Go to Section or Dept. Name home
 

ARTH 491: Bosch to Brueghel

FAL web page: www.lib.virginia.edu/fine-arts/

Search strategies: altarpiece, triptych, panel, manuscript, painting
saint, crucifixion, adoration, peasant, apocalypse
French, flemish, netherlandish, northern renaissance

VIRGO - Keyword netherlandish and painting

Databases

(BHA) Bibliography of the History of Art

Covering European and American art from late antiquity (ca. 300 AD) to the present, the Bibliography of the History of Art indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals. The Bibliography of the History of Art is updated quarterly and covers 1973 to the present.

Advanced Search: KEYWORD northern
AND KEYWORD renaissance

Art Index

Art Index is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Index indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.

Advanced Search: KEYWORD robert campin
KEYWORD van der weyden

(IMB) International Medieval Bibliography - Covers Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500.

Enter Databases IMB-English
All Index Terms art
Subject Flanders
Century 15

Index of Christian Art - Records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400.

Simple Search:
All fields
KEYWORD nativity
KEYWORD virgin mary

Historical Abstracts

Indexes articles written on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). This ABC-CLIO database includes over 500,000 annotated entries referencing articles published in over 2,000 journals published throughout the world. Includes book reviews.

E-Images

Grove Art Online

Article Search: brueghel

Links

Bridgeman

Simple search: altarpiece

 

Web Sites

Northern Renaissance ArtWeb (http://www.msu.edu/~cloudsar/nrweb.htm)

The Labyrinth (http://www.georgetown.edu/labyrinth/labyrinth-home.html)

NetSerf (http://www.netserf.org/)

 

Print Materials

Iconclass Indexes:

Albrecht Durer and his Time (FA-REF NE 90 .I363 v.2)
Martin Schongauer and his School (FA-REF NE 90 .I363 v.1)
Dutch Prints (FA-REF NE 90 .I363 v.8)
Early Netherlandish Painting (FA-REF ND 635 .I27 v.1-2)

Iconography and Dictionaries:

The Apocryphal New Testament (FA REF BS 2832 .J3 1924)
La Bible at les Saints (FA REF N 7825 .D82 1990)
Catalogue of Works of Dutch Painters (FA-REF ND 646 .H63 1976)
Le Dictionnaire des Peintres Belges (FA-REF ND 672 .D53 1995)

 

Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu

Top of page | Back to Art Class Archives | Back to User Instruction



University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113, Charlottesville, VA 22904-4113
ph: (434) 924-3021, fax: (434) 924-1431, library@virginia.edu

Text Version    |   Libraries   |   Depts./Contacts   |  U.Va. Home   |   ITC

Website Feedback   |   Search   |   Questions? Ask a Librarian   |   Hours   |   Map   |   Policies   |   Jobs

Tracking Opt-out    |   © by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Federal Library Depository logo  This library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the Government documents is guaranteed by public law.