Go to Section or Dept. Name home
 

ARTH 491: British Graphic Satire Seminar

FAL web page: www.lib.virginia.edu/fine-arts/

Search strategies: print, graphic, cartoon, caricature, comic
satire, politics, gender, taste, culture
England, British, eighteenth, nineteenth, modern

Databases

BHA

Covering European and American art from late antiquity (ca. 300 A. D.) to the present, the Bibliography of the History of Art indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals.

Keywords: british graphic politic?

Art Index

Art Index is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. In addition to articles, Art Index indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Art Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. Art Full-Text indexing coverage begins 1984.

Choose Art Retro and Art FullText
Advanced Search:  british AND satire AND eighteenth

Historical Abstracts

Indexes articles written on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).

Keyword:satire
Subject: england
Time Period browse: 17

Eighteenth Century Collection Online (ECCO)
Searchable fulltext and page images for works printed between 1701-1800. Includes books on every subject, almanacs, broadsides, magazines, pamphlets, songs, and sermons.

LION - Literature Online 

The "Criticism and Reference" search includes the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature and references from articles and books. Many cited journals are available in full text. LION also includes the full text of many works from American and British literature.

Periodicals Index Online (PIO)   and Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)

Electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from 1665 to 1995.

JStor

Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals in all areas. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.

Websites

The Lewis Walpole Library

A Catalogue of 18th C British mezzotint satires in North American Collections

New York Public Library James Gillray

Grove Art Online

Great resource for images and a starting point for research on an artist, including graphic artists

 

Print Resources

Dictionary of British Cartoonists and Caricaturists 1730-1880
(FA REF NC1470 .B78 1994)
British Prints: Dictionary and Price Guide
(FA REF NE628 .M32 1987b)
The Dictionary of 19th Century British Book Illustrators
(FA REF NC978 .H66 1996)
Dictionary of British Artists (FA REF N6767 .J63)
A Companion to Victorian and Edwardian Artists
(FA REF ND496 .V65 1991)

 

Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu

Top of page | Back to Art Classroom | Back to User Instruction



University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113, Charlottesville, VA 22904-4113
ph: (434) 924-3021, fax: (434) 924-1431, library@virginia.edu

Text Version    |   Libraries   |   Depts./Contacts   |  U.Va. Home   |   ITC

Website Feedback   |   Search   |   Questions? Ask a Librarian   |   Hours   |   Map   |   Policies   |   Jobs

Tracking Opt-out    |   © by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Federal Library Depository logo  This library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the Government documents is guaranteed by public law.