Go to Section or Dept. Name home
 

DRAM 504 - Early American Theatre and Drama

FAL web page: www.lib.virginia.edu/fine-arts/

Project I. The City on the American Stage

Search strategies: theatre/theater, performance, drama, stage
city, urban, postmodern, metropolitan
contemporary, American, New York, Chicago

VIRGO - Keyword (theater or theatre) and city and American

It is always necessary to begin your searches by searching the U.Va. catalogues for books. The keys to a successful VIRGO search are to choose the correct index and to choose a search type which is most inclusive at the beginning. The search can then be limited to be more precise.

 

Databases

International Index to the Performing Arts

Indexes over 200 scholarly and popular periodicals covering dance, film, television, theater, opera, stagecraft, broadcast arts, and more. Full text for citations since 1998.

 

Keyword theater and city
performance and use the browse list

 

 

America History and Life

Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present and has almost 400,000 citations from 2,000 key English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.

 

Advanced search:
keyword
subject
time period
theater
city life
use the browse list

 

 

 

LION Literature Online

Library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose.

 

Subject theater and postmodern and urban

 

MLA Modern Language Association

Worldwide sources for literature, languages, linguistics from over 4000 journals and series

 

Subject performance and city and contemporary

 

JStor

Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals in areas such as anthropology, asian studies, ecology, economics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, sociology, and statistics. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.

 

Keyword stage and city

 

Fine Arts Library Drama Resources

 

Print Resources

The New York Times Theatre Reviews. 1870-1919, with index volume; 1920-1970, with index volume. (FA-REF PN 1581.N38)

New York Theatre Critics' Reviews. annual volumes. 1940-1996. with indexes by actors, play writes, directors, choreographers, designers, etc. (FA Journals PN 1601 .N4)

Dictionary of the theatre : terms, concepts, and analysis. Patrice Pavis. (FA-REF PN 2035 .P313 1998)

The theatregoer's almanac : a collection of lists, people, history, and commentary on the American theatre. Thomas S. Hischak. (FA-REF PN2266 .H53 1997)

The Oxford illustrated history of theatre. edited by John Russell Brown. (FA-REF PN 2111.O84 1995)

Oxford Companion to the Theatre. (FA-REF PN2035.O93 1983)

The World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre. v. 1-2 (FA-REF PN1861.W67 1994)

Ottemiller's Index to plays in Collections: an author and title index to plays appearing in collections published between 1900 and 1985, Ottemiller, John, H. (FA-REF Z5781 .08 1988)

Chicorel theater index to drama literature / Chicorel, Marietta.  (ALD-REF  Z5781 .C484)

 

Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu

Top of page | Back to Drama Classroom | Back to User Instruction



University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113, Charlottesville, VA 22904-4113
ph: (434) 924-3021, fax: (434) 924-1431, library@virginia.edu

Text Version    |   Libraries   |   Depts./Contacts   |  U.Va. Home   |   ITC

Website Feedback   |   Search   |   Questions? Ask a Librarian   |   Hours   |   Map   |   Policies   |   Jobs

Tracking Opt-out    |   © by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Federal Library Depository logo  This library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the Government documents is guaranteed by public law.