Go to Section or Dept. Name home
 

Art Guides

ARH 351 Early American Architecture

Search Strategies

mission, mill, quarters, manor, church, house, pueblo, barn
brick, frame, plan$, vernacular, sacred
pennsylvania, california, new york, virginia, barbados, charleston
dutch, african, spanish, french, eighteenth, seventeenth

Databases

Avery Index

Options: E-mail, Print
Sample Advance Search: KEYWORD� colonial� AND �KEYWORD boston
Refine: KEYWORD house?

Art Index

Choose Art Retro and Art FullText.
Search:����������� virginia and architecture and (early or colonial)
Words Anywhere

America History and Life

KEYWORD��������� ����������� �����architecture
SUBJECT TERMS���� ��������� philadelphia
Browse TIME PERIOD������ 17 (1700s)

Archives USA

JStor

Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals in areas such as anthropology, asian studies, ecology, economics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, sociology, and statistics. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.

 

Web Sites

Archives and Databases

HABS has the digitized records of the Historic American Buildings Survey which began in the 1930's.
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/hhhtml/hhhome.html
 
Vernacular Architecture Forum contains an extensive searchable bibliography on vernacular architecture in the U.S.
http://departments.mwc.edu/hipr/www/vafbib.htm
 
Craftsman Database contains records on craftsmen in the mid-Atlantic region up to the 1820's.
http://www.mesda.org/education/cdintro.htm
login and password provided at the Access desk
 
Eighteenth Century Collections Online is a digital archive of 150,000 printed works from the 18th century.
http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/ECCO?locID=viva_uva
 
Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800
http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/accessible/
 
Resources for Pennsylvania and Delaware
http://www.math.udel.edu/~rstevens/datasets.html
 
Library of Virginia has an index to the Mutual Assurance Society records of properties from 1796 to 1867.
http://www.lva.lib.va.us/
 
Digital Archive of American Barns
http://www.loc.gov/today/pr/2003/03-053.html
 

Societies and Museums

Society of Architectural Historians
http://www.sah.org/articles.html
 
MESDA - Old Salem Online
http://www.mesda.org/about/mesda.htm
 
South Carolina Historical Society
http://www.schistory.org
 
Society of Early Americanists
http://www.humanities.uci.edu/mclark/resource.htm
 

 

Print Resources

Mills Lane. Architecture of the Old South: Louisiana (FA REF NA730 .L8L36 1990)

Sandra L. Tatman et al. Biographical Dictionary of Philadelphia Architects (FA REF NA735 .P5T28 1985)

National Register of Historic Places (FA REF E159 .N34)

Directory of Historic House Museums in the United States (NA REF E159 .W29 2000)

 

Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu

Top of page | Back to Architecture Classroom | Back to User Instruction



University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113, Charlottesville, VA 22904-4113
ph: (434) 924-3021, fax: (434) 924-1431, library@virginia.edu

Text Version    |   Libraries   |   Depts./Contacts   |  U.Va. Home   |   ITC

Website Feedback   |   Search   |   Questions? Ask a Librarian   |   Hours   |   Map   |   Policies   |   Jobs

Tracking Opt-out    |   © by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Federal Library Depository logo  This library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the Government documents is guaranteed by public law.