Go to Section or Dept. Name home
 

ARTH 364: Early Indian Sculpture

FAL web page: http://www.lib.virginia.edu/fine-arts/index.html

 

Search strategies: sculpture, architecture, stupa, temple, Buddha
Buddhist, Hindu, religion, yaksa , Jainism
India/Indian, Harappan, Mathura, second century

VIRGO - Keyword india$ and buddhis$ and architecture

 

Databases

Art Index

Indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world since 1929. 

 

Advanced Search: AND KEYWORD gandhara
KEYWORD sculpture

(BAS) Bibliography of Asian Studies

References western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.

 

Search: AND KEYWORD stupa
KEYWORD India

Avery Index

The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Coverage is from the 1930s.

 

Search:   KEYWORD buddhist
KEYWORD India

JStor

Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals in areas such as anthropology, asian studies, ecology, economics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, sociology, and statistics. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.

 

Search:   KEYWORD kushana
KEYWORD harappan

 

Image and Web Resources

Grove Art Online

Provides instant full-text access to over 41,000 articles on the arts and cultures of Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and the Pacific. In addition, there are links to the tens of thousands of images.

Digital South Asia Library

 

Museum Web Sites

Huntington Archive of Buddhist and Related Art

Musee Guimet

Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery of Art

 

Print Resources

Dictionary of Buddhist Iconography, v. 1-2 (FA-REF N8193.A4 L644 1999)
Encyclopedia of Asian Culture (FA-REF DS12 .E53 1999)
The Dictionary of Art , 25 vols. (FA-REF N31 .D5 1996)


Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu

Top of page | Back to Art Classroom | Back to User Instruction



University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113, Charlottesville, VA 22904-4113
ph: (434) 924-3021, fax: (434) 924-1431, library@virginia.edu

Text Version    |   Libraries   |   Depts./Contacts   |  U.Va. Home   |   ITC

Website Feedback   |   Search   |   Questions? Ask a Librarian   |   Hours   |   Map   |   Policies   |   Jobs

Tracking Opt-out    |   © by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Federal Library Depository logo  This library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the Government documents is guaranteed by public law.