Go to Section or Dept. Name home
 

Art Guides

ARTH 958: Exhibition Seminar on American Painting

Search Strategies

furniture, decorative arts, material culture, painting
federal, colonial, exhibition, craftsman
Nineteenth, American, New England, Pennsylvania

VIRGO - Keyword decorative and nineteenth

Databases

BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art) covers European and American art from late antiquity (ca. 300 AD) to the present and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals.

Sample Advanced Search: KEYWORD America? AND KEYWORD furniture
REFINE colonial

 

 

Art Index indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Index indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.

keyword: sculpture and America* and soldier

 

 

Smithsonian Institution Archives and Inventories

The Smithsonian American Art Museum has established a comprehensive listing: the Inventory of American Paintings and Sculpture. Together, the Art Inventories provide information on over 335,000 artworks in public and private collections worldwide. Information is compiled from a variety of sources, including published catalogues, collection checklists, reports from collectors, journals and magazines, and preservation inventories.

Choose Art Inventories

 

Artist Charles Russell

 

 

America History and Life covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present and has almost 400,000 citations from 2,000 key English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.

Choose Advanced search:

 

keyword
subject
time period
art
american indian
1800H (use the browse list)

 

 

HarpWeek

Historical Newspapers Online

JStor

Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals in areas such as anthropology, asian studies, ecology, economics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, sociology, and statistics. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.

 

Images

Grove Art Online

Art Index

Web Sites

Smithsonian American Art Museum
http://www.nmaa.si.edu/

Worcester Museum
http://www.worcesterart.org/

Metropolitan Museum
http://www.metmuseum.org/

Winterthur Museum
http://www.winterthur.org/about/collections.asp

Boston Museum of Fine Arts
http://www.mfa.org/

National Gallery of Art
http://www.nga.gov/

Chipstone
http://www.chipstone.org/index.html

Eighteenth Century Collections Online
http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/ECCO?locID=viva_uva

Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1800
http://etext.lib.virginia.edu/accessible

Resources for Pennsylvania and Delaware
http://www.math.udel.edu/~rstevens/datasets.html

 

Print Resources

Index to 19th Century Periodicals, 7 vols. (FA-REF N6510.S35 1999)
Annual and Biennial Exhibition Record of the Whitney Museum of American Art, 1918-1989 (FA-REF N6512.A638 1991)
Exhibition Record of the National Academy of Design, 1861-1900, 2 vols.(FA-REF N6510.N38)
The Boston Art Club Record 1873-1909 (FA-REF N6510.C43 1991)
The Annual Exhibition Record of the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts, 3 vols. (FA-REF N6505.A64 1988)
Who Was Who in American Art, 1564-1975, 3 vols. (FA-REF N6536.W56 1999)
The National Museum of American Art's Index to American Art Exhibition Catalogues: From the Beginning through the 1876, 6 vols. (FA-REF N6507 .Y363 1986)

 

Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu

Top of page | Back to Art Classroom | Back to User Instruction



University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113, Charlottesville, VA 22904-4113
ph: (434) 924-3021, fax: (434) 924-1431, library@virginia.edu

Text Version    |   Libraries   |   Depts./Contacts   |  U.Va. Home   |   ITC

Website Feedback   |   Search   |   Questions? Ask a Librarian   |   Hours   |   Map   |   Policies   |   Jobs

Tracking Opt-out    |   © by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Federal Library Depository logo  This library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the Government documents is guaranteed by public law.