ARTH 491 - Art History's Feminisms
FAL web page: www.lib.virginia.edu/fine-arts/
| Search strategies: | gaze, orientation, odalisque, stereotype, Olympia
femini*, gender, postmodernism, representation Guerrilla Girls, postfeminism, erotic*, lesbian |
Databases
BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art) covers European and American art from late antiquity (ca. 300 AD) to the present and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals.
Art Index indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Index indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern (late 19th century) and contemporary art, including photography since its invention. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s. The coverage of ABM is wide-ranging and includes performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.
America History and Life covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present and has almost 400,000 citations from 2,000 key English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.
PIO: Periodicals Index Online from 1665-present indexes articles and book reviews in over 4000 international humanities and social sciences journals published from 1770 to the 1990s. Includes links to full text of articles in Periodicals Archive Online and in humanities and social science titles at JSTOR. Formerly known as Periodicals Contents Index (PCI).
Alternative Press Index from 1991-present indexes alternative, radical and left newspapers and magazines covering cultural, economic, political and social change. Most are from the US, but some other countries are covered. The Alternative Press Index Archive extends coverage to 1969-1990.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
A large collection of primary sources, journal articles, and other instructional materials for the history of women in social movements in the U.S.
Works from the seventeenth to twentieth centuries at the U.Va. Library's E-Text Center.
Writing by women from the Renaissance through the first half of the 19th century.
Artists' Resources
Provides instant full-text access to over 41,000 articles on the arts and cultures of Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and the Pacific. In addition, there are links to the tens of thousands of images.
A large collection of basic information on many subjects drawn from reference books published by Oxford University Press.
Dictionary of Women Artists, 2 vols. (FA-REF N8354.O53 1997)
Women Artists of Color (FA-REF N8354.W656 1999)
Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu
Top of page | Back to Art Classroom | Back to User Instruction