ARTH 491: The Grand Tour
FAL web page: www.lib.virginia.edu/fine-arts/
| Search strategies: | landscape, vedute, engraving, print*
gentleman, culture, aristocra*, travel, diary, voyage England, British, eighteenth, nineteenth, modern |
Databases
Covering European and American art from late antiquity (ca. 300 A. D.) to the present, the Bibliography of the History of Art indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals.
Art Index
Art Index is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. In addition to articles, Art Index indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Art Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. Art Full-Text indexing coverage begins 1984.
Choose Art Retro and Art FullText
Historical Abstracts
Indexes articles written on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
Eighteenth Century Collection Online (ECCO)
Searchable fulltext and page images for works printed between 1701-1800. Includes books on every subject, almanacs, broadsides, magazines, pamphlets, songs, and sermons.
The "Criticism and Reference" search includes the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature and references from articles and books. Many cited journals are available in full text. LION also includes the full text of many works from American and British literature.
Periodicals Index Online (PIO) and Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)
Electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from 1665 to 1995.
Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals in all areas. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.
Great resource for images and a starting point for research on an artist, including graphic artists
Websites
Italy on the Grand Tour (http://www.getty.edu/art/exhibitions/grand_tour/)
The Grand Tour (http://www.geocities.com/Heartland/Acres/8875/grand.htm)
Timeline of Art History: The Grand Tour (http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/hd/grtr/hd_grtr.htm)
Print Resources
British Prints: Dictionary and Price Guide (FA REF NE628 .M32 1987b)
The Dictionary of 19th Century British Book Illustrators and caricaturists (FA REF NC978 .H66 1996)
The Dictionary of Victorian Painters, 2nd edition (FA REF ND467 .W65 1978)
Dictionary of Sea Painters (FA REF ND1374 .A72 1989)
The Dictionary of British Watercolour Artists up to 1920, 2 vols. (FA REF ND1928 .M27 2002)
The Dictionary of Portrait Painters in Britain up to 1920 (FA REF ND1314.4 .S84 1997)
Dictionary of British Artists, 1880-1940 (FA REF N6767 .J63)
A Companion to Victorian and Edwardian Artists (FA STKS ND496 .V65 1991)
Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu
Top of page | Back to Art Classroom | Back to User Instruction