Go to Section or Dept. Name home
 

Historic Gardens, June 2005

 

Search Strategies: Charles Gillette, Frederick Law Olmsted, Jefferson, Rose Greely, Beatrix Farrand, landscape, garden, park, Richmond, Charlottesville, New York, Boston

 

VIRGO Library Catalog [Truncation = $]

Sample Quick search: charles gillette and landscap$ [keywords anywhere]

Sample Advanced search: Gillette (keyword) and Richmond (subject)

 

Databases

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (Avery) [?] 1860-present. Indexes 2000+ jounals covering all aspects of architecture.

Simple search: Greely and landscap?

 

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) [?] 1973-present. Indexes 2000+ journals covering art and related subjects from late antiquity to present.

Advanced search: Jefferson and garden?

 

ArtBibModern [*] 1974 - Present

Simple search: Olmsted and Boston

 

America History and Life [*] 1964-present. Indexes 2000+ journals covering all aspects of North American history.

Advanced search: Dumbarton oaks (keyword) and Farrand (subject)

 

Historical Abstracts [*] 1954-present. Indexes 2000+ journals covering all aspects of European history 14th century to present.

Advanced search: Jekyll and garden* (keyword)

 

JStor Full-text backfiles of many scholarly journals in areas such as anthropology, asian studies, ecology, economics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, sociology, and statistics.

 

Archives

Archives of American Gardens …Choose Archival, Manuscript and Photographic Collections, then under combined search, limit to Archives of American gardens.

 

Printed Sources

Garden Book (FA-REF SB469.37.G37 2000). A survey of 500 of the world's most influential garden designers, patrons and owners and their gardens from ancient times to the present. Arranged alphabetically by designer, indexed by place. One large illustration per garden.

Oxford Companion to Gardens (FA-REF SB469.25.O95 2001). Dictionary arrangement includes general and specific articles on the art of garden design from the earliest times to the present day.

Pioneers of American Landscape Design (FA-REF SB469.9.P56 2000). An encyclopedia of 160 American landscape architects.

 

Web Sites

Websites for Reuben Rainey's History of Landscape Architecture courses:

History of Landscape Architecture (LAR512): http://www.lib.virginia.edu/dic/colls/lar/lar512P.html

History of American Landscape Architecture (LAR513): http://cti.itc.virginia.edu/~rmr/lar513home.html


Contact the Librarian: Lorenza Amico | 924.6607 | lorenza@virginia.edu

Top of page | Back to Architecture Classroom | Back to User Instruction



University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113, Charlottesville, VA 22904-4113
ph: (434) 924-3021, fax: (434) 924-1431, library@virginia.edu

Text Version    |   Libraries   |   Depts./Contacts   |  U.Va. Home   |   ITC

Website Feedback   |   Search   |   Questions? Ask a Librarian   |   Hours   |   Map   |   Policies   |   Jobs

Tracking Opt-out    |   © by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Federal Library Depository logo  This library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the Government documents is guaranteed by public law.