Go to Section or Dept. Name home
 

ARTH 975: Indian Temple Architecture

FAL web page: http://www.lib.virginia.edu/fine-arts/index.html

 

Search strategies: temple, shikhara, gopuram, stupa, shrine
Nagara, Sanchi, Dravida, Deccan, Shiva
India/Indian, jain, hindu, buddh*, seventh (century)

VIRGO - Keyword india$ and architecture

Databases

Art Index

Indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world since 1929. 

 

Advanced Search: KEYWORD deccan
KEYWORD temple
 

Avery Index

Indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Coverage is from the 1930s.

 

Search: KEYWORD jain
KEYWORD shrine
 

(BAS) Bibliography of Asian Studies

References western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.

 

Search: KEYWORD nagara
KEYWORD temple
 

 

JStor

Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals in areas such as anthropology, asian studies, ecology, economics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, sociology, and statistics. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.

 

Search: KEYWORD shiva
KEYWORD shrine
 

 

Museum Sites and Web Sites

Grove Art Online

Provides instant full-text access to over 41,000 articles on the arts and cultures of Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas, and the Pacific. In addition, there are links to the tens of thousands of images.

Temple Net

Musee Guimet

Huntington Archive of Buddhist and Related Art

Digital South Asia Library

Google Image Search

Print Resources

A Dictionary of Hindu Architecture (FA-REF NA1502 .A25 1979)
The Dictionary of Art , 34 vols. (FA-REF N31 .D5 1996)
Oxford Companion to Indian Archaeology (FA-REF DS418 .C48 2006)
Dictionary of Buddhist and Hindu Iconography (FA-REF N8193 .A4B86 1997)




Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu

Top of page | Back to Art Classroom | Back to User Instruction



University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113, Charlottesville, VA 22904-4113
ph: (434) 924-3021, fax: (434) 924-1431, library@virginia.edu

Text Version    |   Libraries   |   Depts./Contacts   |  U.Va. Home   |   ITC

Website Feedback   |   Search   |   Questions? Ask a Librarian   |   Hours   |   Map   |   Policies   |   Jobs

Tracking Opt-out    |   © by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Federal Library Depository logo  This library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the Government documents is guaranteed by public law.