Go to Section or Dept. Name home
 

ITTR 358: The Sister Arts: Literary and Artistic Inter-relations in the Italian Renaissance

 

Search strategies: literature, sculpture, panel, artist, painting
boccaccio, michelangelo, bronzino, petrarch, dante
Florence, Rome,medieval, renaissance, trecento

VIRGO - Keyword florence and art and literature

Databases

Grove Art Online

Article Search: Vasari

(BHA) Bibliography of the History of Art

Covering European and American art from late antiquity (ca. 300 AD) to the present, the Bibliography of the History of Art indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals. The Bibliography of the History of Art is updated quarterly and covers 1973 to the present.

Simple Search: literature
renaissance
Advanced Search: SUBJECT Vasari KEYWORD writing* or painter*

Art Index

Art Index is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Index indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.

Advanced Search: KEYWORD vasari
KEYWORD writing*
  KEYWORD boccaccio KEYWORD decameron

Historical Abstracts

Indexes articles written on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). This ABC-CLIO database includes over 500,000 annotated entries referencing articles published in over 2,000 journals published throughout the world. Includes book reviews.

Advanced Search: Keyword dante
Century 15

(IMB) International Medieval Bibliography - Covers Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500.

Enter Databases IMB-English
All Index Terms literature
Subject Florence
Century 14

Index of Christian Art - Records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400.

Advanced Search: KEYWORD dante
KEYWORD purgatory

JStor

Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals in areas such as anthropology, asian studies, ecology, economics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, sociology, and statistics. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.

 

E-Images

Grove Art Online

Article Search: cimabue

ArtCyclopedia

Artists Search: bronzino

Bridgeman

Simple search: petrarch

 

Web Sites

Giotto: Capella degli Scrovegni (http://www.cappelladegliscrovegni.it/)

Michelangelo Buonarroti (http://www.michelangelo.com/buonarroti.html)

Decameron Web (http://www.brown.edu/Research/Decameron/)

Renaissance Dante in Print (http://www.nd.edu/~italnet/Dante/)

NetSerf (http://www.netserf.org/)

Perseus Digital Library (http://www.perseus.tufts.edu) for these texts and translations:

Homer. Iliad.
Homer. Odyssey.
Virgil. Aeneid.
Ovid. Metamorphoses.

Print Materials

Mythological and Classical World Art Index (FA REF N7760 .R63 1991)
Oxford Classical Dictionary (FA REF DE 5 .O9 1996)
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography, 2 vols. (FA REF N7565 .E53 1998)
Travaux d'humanisme et Renaissance (FA REF N 7740 .T4 1958)
Iconographie de l'art profane au Moyen-Age et a la Renaissance, 2 vols. (FA REF N 5970 .M35 1971)
Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance (FA REF CB 361 .C27 2003)
The Apocryphal New Testament (FA REF BS 2832 .J3 1924)
La Bible at les Saints (FA REF N 7825 .D82 1990)

 

Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu
Contact the Librarian : Lorenza Amico | 924.6607 | lorenza@virginia.edu

Top of page | Back to Art Classroom | Back to User Instruction



University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113, Charlottesville, VA 22904-4113
ph: (434) 924-3021, fax: (434) 924-1431, library@virginia.edu

Text Version    |   Libraries   |   Depts./Contacts   |  U.Va. Home   |   ITC

Website Feedback   |   Search   |   Questions? Ask a Librarian   |   Hours   |   Map   |   Policies   |   Jobs

Tracking Opt-out    |   © by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Federal Library Depository logo  This library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the Government documents is guaranteed by public law.