Go to Section or Dept. Name home
 

Where do I go from here?

Now that you have a bachelor's degree in Art History what are you going to do? This page is designed to provide you with links to grad schools, funding, and job options in the field of art history.

 

 

Graduate Schools Funding Information Organizations
Career Options Museum Jobs Other Jobs in the Art World

 

Graduate Schools:

Many careers in the art world require advanced degrees. Selecting the proper graduate school is often a difficult and frustrating task. These links will provide information on different graduate programs worldwide allowing you to find the program that suits you best.

GradSchools.com This site provides a comprehensive online directory of graduate and post graduate school programs.

Council of Graduate Schools Click on "Resources for Students" and find information on how to choose a graduate school, financing your education, fellowships and financial aid, and sources of information about different graduate schools.

Peterson's Educational Portal Click on "Graduate Programs" and research by program, degree, or location.

ArtSchools.com Search specifically for art schools and colleges/universities with various art programs including graduate degrees in art history.

McIntire Department of Art The Art History program at the University of Virginia.

*Remember the SAT's? All graduate programs in Art History require you to take the Graduate Record Examination (GRE) which is even more fun!

Funding Information:

Now that you have decided on a graduate school you will need to figure out how to finance your education. These sites will also be useful for funding a specific project or research abroad.

College Art Association, Resources and Opportunities Provides information on grants, fellowships and internships in the arts.

NEA Website Features opportunities for federal funding.

Resources in Art History for Graduate Students A Newsletter of Fellowships and other Opportunities for Art History Graduate Students.

Grants, Scholarships and Funding Link to several different funding organizations.

The Samuel H. Kress Foundation Enhancing the development of the professional art historian through grants and fellowships.

The Fulbright Home Page website for the Institute of International Education and information on Fulbright grants and fellowships.

The Foundation Center Grantseeker tools and foundation finder information. Also offers a short course on writing grant and fellowship proposals (Foundation Center Proposal Writing Short Course).

Academic Common Market Allows you to apply for instate tuition at an out-of-state institution if your state does not offer a particular program. Participating states only.

Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) Apply for financial aid (grants and loans) online.

The Cornell University Graduate School Fellowship Database primarily lists fellowships from non-Cornell sources.

Organizations:

Professional organizations can be very useful for career planning, funding, and job opportunities. These links are just a sampling of the organizations out there.

College Art Association The major organization for art and art history college publication. Provides a journal, funding information, job opportunities, etc.

The American Association of Museums Enhancing North America's museums by enlightening and educating. website provides funding and job information.

The Archeological Institute of America North America's oldest and largest organization devoted to the world of archeology. A must for any classical studies student!

Art Libraries Society of North America The professional association of art librarians. Lists employment opportunities.

Maryland Art Source An organization listing non-profit art organizations and institutions in and around Maryland. Also has information on jobs and funding.

ArtSource "A gathering point for networked resources on Art and Architecture."

Career Options for Art Historians:

There are many options for careers with a degree in art history. The best place to find a detailed description of these options is at Notre Dame's "Career Alternatives for Art Historians" compiled by Charles M. Rosenberg. This site outlines various job options and their necessary requirements.

Another useful site is the Art History Major Resource Kit from the University of Delaware. Though not near as extensive as the previous site, it does provide some useful sources of information.

Career Options for Majors in Art History Provided by Rutgers University is similar to "Career Alternatives for Art Historians"

Museum Jobs:

Museum Resource Board website offers a job database, an internship database, related sites and more.

MuseumStuff.com Job resources page with links to many museum and employment sites.

Museum Employment Resource Center Offers information about job vacancies in the US and other cultural resource institutions.

MuseumJobs.com Recruitment for Museums and Galleries around the country.

AVISO Employment resources for museum professionals.

Other Jobs in the Art World:

Art Jobs Online Provides information on hundreds of jobs in the art world.

Art History Network Offers links to job postings in the art world.

Art Deadline List Monthly newsletter of art jobs, internships, etc.

About Art Sign up for monthly newsletters containing job postings in art history.

HNet Job guide for the humanities and social sciences.

*Many of the Organizations listed above also provide information on jobs and internships.

 

Compiled by Jennifer Parker

Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu

Top of page | Back to Pathfinders | Back to User Instruction



University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113, Charlottesville, VA 22904-4113
ph: (434) 924-3021, fax: (434) 924-1431, library@virginia.edu

Text Version    |   Libraries   |   Depts./Contacts   |  U.Va. Home   |   ITC

Website Feedback   |   Search   |   Questions? Ask a Librarian   |   Hours   |   Map   |   Policies   |   Jobs

Tracking Opt-out    |   © by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Federal Library Depository logo  This library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the Government documents is guaranteed by public law.