Go to Section or Dept. Name home
 

ARTH 491: The Medieval Church

FAL web page: www.lib.virginia.edu/fine-arts/

 

Search strategies: tympanum, portal, glass, sculpture, architecture
saint, abbey, cathedral, canon, royal, tomb
France/French, gothic, medieval, England

Databases

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) (1973-present) - Indexes and abstracts periodicals, catalogs, essays, and more; subjects include all aspects of the visual arts, architecture, and design in the post-Classical western world

Quick Search: france and tympan*
 

Avery Index (1930-present) - indexes over 2,000 periodicals on archaeology, city planning, interior design, historic preservation, and architecture; includes publication dates from the 1930s (with selective coverage from 1741)

Quick Search: st. denis and sculpture
 

Art Index (1929-present) - indexes articles and art reproductions in all arts media from selected art periodicals published since 1929. The index is divided into two parts, Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984) and Art Index Full Text (1984-present)

Advanced Search: All - Smart Search: glass
All - Smart Search: chartres

Periodical Index Online (PIO) (1665-1995) - indexes articles published in the arts, humanities, and social sciences

Keyword: sculpture and canterbury
 

International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) - Covers Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500

Enter Databases IMB-English
All Index Terms cathedral
Subject england
Century 13

Index of Christian Art - Records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400.

Simple Search:
All fields
KEYWORD virgin mary and gothic and sculpture
KEYWORD saint george

 

E-Images

Grove Art Online

Article Search: London

Links

Bridgeman

Simple search: chartres

Images of Medieval Art and Architecture

 

Web Sites

Chartres, Sanctuary of the World Association (http://www.chartres-csm.org/)

Lincolncathedral.com (http://tour.lincolncathedral.com/)

NetSerf (http://www.netserf.org/)

Ministere Culture Communications (http://www.culture.fr/culture/arcnat)

The Labyrinth (http://www.georgetown.edu/labyrinth/labyrinth-home.html)

Westminster Abbey (http://www.castles-abbeys.co.uk/Westminster-Abbey.html)

.

Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu
Lorenza Amico | 924.6607 | lorenza@virginia.edu

Top of page | Back to Art Classroom | Back to User Instruction



University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113, Charlottesville, VA 22904-4113
ph: (434) 924-3021, fax: (434) 924-1431, library@virginia.edu

Text Version    |   Libraries   |   Depts./Contacts   |  U.Va. Home   |   ITC

Website Feedback   |   Search   |   Questions? Ask a Librarian   |   Hours   |   Map   |   Policies   |   Jobs

Tracking Opt-out    |   © by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Federal Library Depository logo  This library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the Government documents is guaranteed by public law.