Go to Section or Dept. Name home
 

Art Guides

ARH 730: Resources on Mediaeval Sicily

Search Strategies

church, tomb, abbey, mosaic, inscription, palace, castle
royal, crusade(r), islamic, byzantine, imagery, architecture
Italy, england, sicily, norman, palermo, eleventh, twelfth

VIRGO - Keyword sicily and mosaic$

 

Databases

Avery Index - Indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture.

Advanced Search: All fields KEYWORD palermo
KEYWORD building?

(IMB) International Medieval Bibliography - Covers Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500.

Enter Databases IMB-English All Index Terms norman sicily
Century 12

(BHA) Bibliography of the History of Art - Indexes and abstracts periodicals, catalogs, essays, and more; subjects include all aspects of the visual arts, architecture, and design in the post-Classical western world.

Options:����������� e-mail, print

Advanced Search: KEYWORD norman AND KEYWORD england
Refine imagery

Index of Christian Art - Records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400.

Simple Search: All fields KEYWORD sicily
KEYWORD mosaic

JStor

Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals in areas such as anthropology, asian studies, ecology, economics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, sociology, and statistics. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.

 

Images

Grove Art Online

Article search: Sicily Links

Bridgeman - subject: Norman

 

Web Sites

NetSerf (http://www.netserf.org/)

Les Normands (http://www.norman-world.com/)

ORB (http://the-orb.net)

The Labyrinth (http://www.georgetown.edu/labyrinth/labyrinth-home.html)

 

Print Resources

Friedman and Wegmann. Medieval Iconography: A Research Guide, FA-REF Z5933 .F75 1998
Ross. Medieval Art: A Topical Dictionary, FA-REF N7850 .R67 1996
Petersen. Dictionary of Islamic Architecture, FA-REF NA380 .P46 1996
Tasker. Encyclopedia of Medieval Church Art, FA-REF N6763 .T37 1993
The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium, 3 vols., FA-REF DF521 .O97 1991

 

Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu



University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113, Charlottesville, VA 22904-4113
ph: (434) 924-3021, fax: (434) 924-1431, library@virginia.edu

Text Version    |   Libraries   |   Depts./Contacts   |  U.Va. Home   |   ITC

Website Feedback   |   Search   |   Questions? Ask a Librarian   |   Hours   |   Map   |   Policies   |   Jobs

Tracking Opt-out    |   © by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Federal Library Depository logo  This library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the Government documents is guaranteed by public law.