Go to Section or Dept. Name home
 

DRAM 361: Modern European Drama

FAL web page: www.lib.virginia.edu/fine-arts/

Search strategies: theatre/theater, performance, drama, stage
reform, social/socialism, politics, ethnic,
Modern, France, Hungary, Europe

VIRGO - Keyword theatre and europe$

You should always begin by searching the U.Va. catalogue for books. The keys to a successful VIRGO search are to choose the correct index and to choose a search type which is most inclusive at the beginning. The search can then be limited to be more precise.

Databases

International Index to the Performing Arts

Indexes over 200 scholarly and popular periodicals covering dance, film, television, theater, opera, stagecraft, broadcast arts, and more. Full text for citations since 1998.

 

Keyword drama and modern europe
theatre (See the Browse List)

 

 

Periodicals Index Online (PIO)   and Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)

PIO and PAO are an electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from 1770 to 1995. Every article is indexed. PIO and PAO currently index over twelve million journal articles in 3,665 journals. Every year, they add records for more than one million new articles.

Keyword theat* and social* and europe*

 

JStor

Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals in areas such as anthropology, asian studies, ecology, economics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, sociology, and statistics. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.

 

Keyword stage and politics

 

MLA Modern Language Association

Worldwide sources for literature, languages, linguistics from over 4000 journals and series

 

Keyword theatre and modern and france

 

Historical Abstracts

Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present and has almost 400,000 citations from 2,000 key English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.

 

Advanced search:
keyword
subject
time period
drama
France
1880D (Use the browse list)

 

 

Proquest Historical Newspapers

Times, London Digital Archive

Print Resources

Dictionary of the theatre : terms, concepts, and analysis. (FA-REF PN 2035 .P313 1998)
The Oxford illustrated history of theatre. (FA-REF PN 2111.O84 1995)
Oxford Companion to the Theatre. (FA-REF PN2035.O93 1983)
The World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre. v. 1-2 (FA-REF PN1861.W67 1994)
Ottemiller's Index to plays in Collections: an author and title index to plays appearing in collections published between 1900 and 1985, Ottemiller, John, H. (FA-REF Z5781 .08 1988)
Chicorel theater index to drama literature / Chicorel, Marietta.  (ALD-REF  Z5781 .C484)

 

Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu

Top of page | Back to Drama Classroom | Back to User Instruction



University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113, Charlottesville, VA 22904-4113
ph: (434) 924-3021, fax: (434) 924-1431, library@virginia.edu

Text Version    |   Libraries   |   Depts./Contacts   |  U.Va. Home   |   ITC

Website Feedback   |   Search   |   Questions? Ask a Librarian   |   Hours   |   Map   |   Policies   |   Jobs

Tracking Opt-out    |   © by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Federal Library Depository logo  This library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the Government documents is guaranteed by public law.