Go to Section or Dept. Name home
 

ARH 921: Norman Imagery

FAL web page: www.lib.virginia.edu/fine-arts/

 

Search strategies: nave, portal, vault/vaulting, facade, transept
tomb, gisant, saint, monastery, cathedral, Benedictine, abbey
Sicily, France/French, gothic, gothic, Norman

Databases

Avery Index - Indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture.

Search: All fields KEYWORD monreale
KEYWORD cathedral

 

(BHA) Bibliography of the History of Art - Indexes and abstracts periodicals, catalogs, essays, and more; subjects include all aspects of the visual arts, architecture, and design in the post-Classical western world.

Options:            e-mail, print

Search: KEYWORD scotland
AND KEYWORD gothic

Art Index

Art Index is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. In addition to articles, Art Index indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.

Advanced Search: KEYWORD norman

  KEYWORD mozarabic  

 

(IMB) International Medieval Bibliography - Covers Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500.

Enter Databases IMB-English
All Index Terms castle
Place england
Century 12

Index of Christian Art - Records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400.

Simple Search:
All fields
KEYWORD saint margaret

 

JStor

Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals in areas such as anthropology, asian studies, ecology, economics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, sociology, and statistics. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.

E-Images

ArtStor

Simple search: Durham

Grove Art Online

Article Search: Paris

Web Sites

Images of Medieval Art and Architecture (http://vrcoll.fa.pitt.edu/medart/index.html)

NetSerf (http://www.netserf.org/)

Ministere Culture Communications (http://www.culture.fr/culture/arcnat)

The Labyrinth (http://www.georgetown.edu/labyrinth/labyrinth-home.html)

Les Normands (http://www.norman-world.com/)

ORB (http://the-orb.net)

Durham Cathedral (http://www.durhamcathedral.co.uk/)

Westminster Abbey (http://www.castles-abbeys.co.uk/Westminster-Abbey.html)

.

Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu

Top of page | Back to Architecture Classroom | Back to User Instruction



University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113, Charlottesville, VA 22904-4113
ph: (434) 924-3021, fax: (434) 924-1431, library@virginia.edu

Text Version    |   Libraries   |   Depts./Contacts   |  U.Va. Home   |   ITC

Website Feedback   |   Search   |   Questions? Ask a Librarian   |   Hours   |   Map   |   Policies   |   Jobs

Tracking Opt-out    |   © by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Federal Library Depository logo  This library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the Government documents is guaranteed by public law.