Go to Section or Dept. Name home
 

ARTH 491 - Old South in Myth and Memory

FAL web page: www.lib.virginia.edu/fine-arts/

 

Search strategies: sculpture, art, painting, culture
slavery, planter/plantation, Reconstruction, Black, African American
Nineteenth, Charleston, south/southern, confederacy

 

Keyword black and nineteenth and artist
Subject African American artists - Exhibitions

Databases

BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art) covers European and American art from late antiquity (ca. 300 AD) to the present and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals.

Sample Advanced Search: KEYWORD art AND KEYWORD slavery

 

 

Art Index indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Index indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.

keyword: sculpture and african american and nineteenth

 

 

Smithsonian Institution Archives and Inventories includes the Art Inventories which provide information on over 335,000 artworks in public and private collections worldwide. Information is compiled from a variety of sources, including published catalogues, collection checklists, reports from collectors, journals and magazines, and preservation inventories.

Choose Art Inventories

 

Artist Lewis, Edmonia

 

 

America History and Life covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present and has almost 400,000 citations from 2,000 key English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.

Choose Advanced search:

 

keyword
subject
time period
culture
plantations
1800H (use the browse list)

 

 

 

HarpWeek covers the 56 years of Harper’s Weekly and provides a continuous record of what happened on a weekly basis from 1857 through 1912. The first segment includes the Civil War Era: 1857-1865. The next two cover Reconstruction: 1866-1871 and 1872-1877. The last six encompass the Gilded Age: 1878-1912.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers Online can find full text of articles from the New York Times (1851-1999), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1995), and the Washington Post (1877-1987).

American Periodicals Series Online 1740-1900 can find articles from 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing in America between 1740 and 1900.

JStor searches the full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals in areas such as anthropology, asian studies, ecology, economics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, sociology, and statistics. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.

 

Web Sites

Smithsonian American Art Museum
http://americanart.si.edu/index3.cfm

The Charleston Museum
http://www.charlestonmuseum.org/topic.asp?id=1

Gibbes Museum of Art
http://www.gibbesmuseum.org/

Chicago Renaissance
http://www.chipublib.org/digital/chiren/

Rhapsodies in Black: Art of the Harlem Renaissance
http://www.metmuseum.org/

Paul R. Jones Collection
http://www.museums.udel.edu/jones/jones-pages/digital-jones.html

Maryland Historical Society
http://www.mdhs.org/

Library of Congress: American Memory
http://memory.loc.gov/

Library of Congress: Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/pp/pphome.html

Making of America
http://cdl.library.cornell.edu/moa/

Documenting the American South
http://docsouth.unc.edu/

 

Print Resources

Index to 19th Century Periodicals, 7 vols. (FA-REF N6510.S35 1999)
Lewis, S. African American Art and Artists (FA-REF N6538 .N5L38 1994)
Bearden, R. and Henderson, H. A History of African American Artists (FA-REF N6538 .N5B38 1993)
St. James Guide to Black Artists (FA-REF N40 .S78 1997)
Annual and Biennial Exhibition Record of the Whitney Museum of American Art, 1918-1989 (FA-REF N6512.A638 1991)
Exhibition Record of the National Academy of Design, 1861-1900, 2 vols.(FA-REF N6510.N38)
The Boston Art Club Record 1873-1909 (FA-REF N6510.C43 1991)
The Annual Exhibition Record of the Pennsylvania Academy of the Fine Arts, 3 vols. (FA-REF N6505.A64 1988)
Who Was Who in American Art, 1564-1975, 3 vols. (FA-REF N6536.W56 1999)
The National Museum of American Art's Index to American Art Exhibition Catalogues: From the Beginning through the 1876, 6 vols. (FA-REF N6507 .Y363 1986)

 

Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu

Top of page | Back to Art Classroom | Back to User Instruction



University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113, Charlottesville, VA 22904-4113
ph: (434) 924-3021, fax: (434) 924-1431, library@virginia.edu

Text Version    |   Libraries   |   Depts./Contacts   |  U.Va. Home   |   ITC

Website Feedback   |   Search   |   Questions? Ask a Librarian   |   Hours   |   Map   |   Policies   |   Jobs

Tracking Opt-out    |   © by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Federal Library Depository logo  This library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the Government documents is guaranteed by public law.