ARTH 491: Pompeii: Life and Art
FAL web page: http://www.lib.virginia.edu/fine-arts/index.html
| Search strategies: | architecture, mosaic, gardens, painting, fresco
city, plan, temple, excavation, bath, forum Roman, Augustan, Pompeii, second century |
VIRGO - Keyword pompeii and painting
Databases
Subject index for periodicals and books on classical and medieval art, archaeology, and humanities. Compiled at the German Archaeological Institute in Rome. Coverage begins in 1956 with annual updates.
| Search types: | Search (predefined) Author Dobbins, J
Tree (subject) Painting Houses and Villas String (keyword) fourth style |
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present. The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals is updated daily.
| Basic Search | KEYWORD | pompei?
forum |
Art Index is a two-part bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Art Index Retrospective contains citations published between 1929-1984. Art Full-Text indexing coverage begins in 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Art Index also indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
| Advanced Search: | KEYWORD | mural AND roman
fresco AND pompei* |
Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals in areas such as anthropology, asian studies, ecology, economics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, sociology, and statistics. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.
Web Resources
Contains extensive and diverse resources including primary and secondary texts, site plans, digital images, and maps. Art and archaeology catalogs document a wide range of objects: over 1,500 vases, over 1,800 sculptures and sculptural groups, over 1,200 coins, hundreds of buildings from nearly 100 sites and over 100 gems.
(BCIN) Conservation Information Network
One of three conservation databases first released in 1987, BCIN's objective is to facilitate the retrieval and exchange of information concerning conservation and restoration of cultural property. BCIN's contributing partners have brought together over 190,000 bibliographic records on conservation.
Diotima (Materials for the Study of Women and Gender in the Ancient World)
The database serves as an interdisciplinary resource for anyone interested in gender issues in the ancient Mediterranean.
Print Resources
A selective sampling of important series for this period:
Pompei : pitture e mosaici (FA OVERSIZE ND2575 .P75 1990)
Lexicon Iconongraphicum Mythologiae Classicae [LIMC] (FA-REF N7760.L49 1981)
The Oxford Classical Dictionary (FA REF DE5 .O9 1996)
Der Neue Pauly: Enzyklopadie der Antike (FA REF DE5 .N48 1996; English v.1-5 AL-REF DE5 .N4813 2002)
Lexikon Topographicum Urbis Romae, 5 vols. (FA REF DG63 .L49 1993)
Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu
Top of page | Back to Art Classroom | Back to User Instruction