ARTH 491: Sacred and Profane in Enlightenment Art
FAL web page: www.lib.virginia.edu/fine-arts/
| Search strategies: | revolution, festival, enlightenment, religio*, iconography, parody, satire, reformation, jansenism, monument, antiquity., romanticism |
Databases and Online Resources
Covering European and American art from late antiquity (ca. 300 A. D.) to the present, the Bibliography of the History of Art indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals.
Keywords: french revolution and festival*
Art Index
Art Index is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. In addition to articles, Art Index indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Art Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. Art Full-Text indexing coverage begins 1984.
Choose Art Retro and Art FullText
Advanced Search: british AND satire AND eighteenth
Historical Abstracts
Indexes articles written on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
Keyword:�monument
Subject: england
Time Period: 1700 AD to 1840 AD
Eighteenth Century Collection Online (ECCO)
Searchable fulltext and page images for works printed between 1701-1800. Includes books on every subject, almanacs, broadsides, magazines, pamphlets, songs, and sermons.
The Index of Christian Art
Records Christian works of art in 17 different media types, without geographical limitations, produced from "apostolic" times to 1400 A.D. It indexes over 26,000 subjects in Christian Art and includes bibliography for each work of art. Among the holdings is an extensive reference collection of Crucifixion scenes, saints, and personifications.
The Core Collection contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. The Premium Collection offers more detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions Series.
New Advent and The Catholic Encyclopedia
is a website with an extensive encyclopedia of Catholic subjects, bible translations, and lives of saints as well as links to other Catholic sites.
Print Resources
Holy Bible, Revised Standard, Jerusalem Bible, King James Version, New English Bible. (FA REF BS191.A1 1953, FA REF BS192.A1 1970)
James. The Apocryphal New Testament. (FA REF BS2832.J3 1924)
Charles. The Apocrypha and Pseudepigrapha of the Old Testament. (FA REF BS1692 1913)
De Voragine. The Golden Legend. (FA REF BX4654.J334 1969)
Berthod et al. Dictionnaire iconographique des Saints. (FA REF N 8079.5 .B47 1999)
Farmer. The Oxford Dictionary of Saints. (FA REF BX 4659 .G7F23)
The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium. (FA REF DF521 .O97 1991)
Kafta. Saints in Italian Art, v. 1-4 by region. (FA REF N8080 .K25)
Rochelle. Post-Biblical Saints Art Index. (FA REF N8079.5 .R63 1994)
Wolf. The World of the Saints. (FA REF N8079.5 .W65513)
Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu
Top of page | Back to Art Classroom | Back to User Instruction