Go to Section or Dept. Name home
 

ARTS 382 - Intermediate Sculpture II

FAL web page: http://www.lib.virginia.edu/fine-arts/

Virgo

Keyword Hauser
contemporary and sculpture

 

Web Resources

Dmoz Open Directory project- Visual Arts

art-Online
A fine arts directory covering multiple areas important for artists

Artifact
Best of the Web for the Arts and Creative Industries

artline
A fine arts portal site for dealers, collectors, curators, and artists

ArtSeek
The Internet Artist's Resource Directory

ArtSource
"A Gathering place for resources in art and architecture." Includes links to e-exhibitions and artists' projects

Art in Context
Free public access to information added by curators, dealers, artists, writers and others from around the world with over 700,000 images per month

Internet ArtResources
Up-to date information on contemporary artists, galleries, exhibitions, and future shows

World Wide Art Resources
The largest site for contemporary art, art news, art history, contemporary artist and gallery portfolios, online since 1995

ADAM
The Art, Design, Architecture & Media Information Gateway, asearchable catalogue of Internet resources

Finding New Artists on the Web

FAL pathfinder for locating contemporary multicultural artists

Grove Art Online

Similar to a survey text, the Grove Art Online provides encyclopedia style information on most topics and artists relevant to the art world.

 

A Few Museum Websites

Museum of Modern Art

MOCA

MCA Chicago

National Museum of the American Indian

National Museum of Women in the Arts

 

Databases

ArtBibliographies Modern

Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern (late 19th century) and contemporary art, including photography since its invention. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s. The coverage of ABM is wide-ranging and includes performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.

Art Index

Art Index is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. In addition to articles, Art Index indexes reproductions of works of art Art Full-Text indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. There is some Full-text coverage.

(BHA) Bibliography of the History of Art

Covering European and American art from late antiquity (ca. 300 A. D.) to the present, the Bibliography of the History of Art indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals and covers 1973 to the present.

 

Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu

Top of page | Back to Art Classroom | Back to User Instruction



University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113, Charlottesville, VA 22904-4113
ph: (434) 924-3021, fax: (434) 924-1431, library@virginia.edu

Text Version    |   Libraries   |   Depts./Contacts   |  U.Va. Home   |   ITC

Website Feedback   |   Search   |   Questions? Ask a Librarian   |   Hours   |   Map   |   Policies   |   Jobs

Tracking Opt-out    |   © by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Federal Library Depository logo  This library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the Government documents is guaranteed by public law.