Go to Section or Dept. Name home
 

ART Distinguished Major Program: Researching the Artists

FAL web page: http://www.lib.virginia.edu/fine-arts/

Virgo

Keyword gerhard richter
gender and modern art

 

Web Resources

Internet ArtResources

Up-to date information on contemporary artists, galleries, exhibitions, and future shows

ArtSeek

The Internet Artist's Resource Directory

World Wide Art Resources

The largest site for contemporary art, art news, art history, contemporary artist and gallery portfolios, online since 1995

ArtSource

"A Gathering place for resources in art and architecture." Includes links to e-exhibitions and artists' projects

Art in Context

Free public access to information added by curators, dealers, artists, writers and others from around the world with over 700,000 images per month

ADAM

The Art, Design, Architecture & Media Information Gateway, a searchable catalogue of Internet resources

Finding New Artists on the Web

FAL pathfinder for locating contemporary multicultural artists

 

Databases

ArtBibliographies Modern

Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern (late 19th century) and contemporary art, including photography since its invention. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s. The coverage of ABM is wide-ranging and includes performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.

Grove Art Online

Similar to a survey text, the Grove Art Online provides encyclopedia style information on most topics and artists relevant to the art world. This is not a place to go to find specific articles, but rather general information about your work of art that might point you in a direction for your later research.

Art Index

Art Index is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Index indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Art Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. Art Full-Text indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. There is some Full-text coverage. Subjects indexed cover a wide range in the fine arts, architecture and the decorative arts.

(BHA) Bibliography of the History of Art

Covering European and American art from late antiquity (ca. 300 A. D.) to the present, the Bibliography of the History of Art indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals. The Bibliography of the History of Art is updated quarterly and covers 1973 to the present.

Periodicals Index Online (PIO)   and Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)

PIO and PAO are an electronic index to the contents of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, from 1770 to 1995. Every article is indexed. PIO and PAO currently index over twelve million journal articles in 3,665 journals. Every year, they add records for more than one million new articles.

Alternative Press Index

Indexes nearly 300 alternative, radical and left newspapers and magazines covering cultural, economic, political & social change. Most are from the US, but some other countries are covered. Updated every three months. Includes book reviews.

JStor

Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals in areas such as anthropology, asian studies, ecology, economics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, sociology, and statistics. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.

A Few Museum Websites

Museum of Modern Art

MOCA

MCA Chicago

National Museum of the American Indian

National Museum of Women in the Arts

 

Print Resources

A selective sampling of reference material on the subject:

Contemporary Artists (FA-REF N6490 .C6567 1996)
Dictionary of Women Artists, 2 vols. (FA-REF N8354 .D53 1997)
St. James Guide to Black Artists (FA-REF N40 .S78 1997)
St. James Guide to Native North American Artists (FA-REF E98 .A7S8 1998)
Artists from Latin American Cultures: A Biographical Dictionary (FA-REF N6502.5 .C657 2002)

Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu

Top of page | Back to Art Classroom | Back to User Instruction



University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113, Charlottesville, VA 22904-4113
ph: (434) 924-3021, fax: (434) 924-1431, library@virginia.edu

Text Version    |   Libraries   |   Depts./Contacts   |  U.Va. Home   |   ITC

Website Feedback   |   Search   |   Questions? Ask a Librarian   |   Hours   |   Map   |   Policies   |   Jobs

Tracking Opt-out    |   © by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Federal Library Depository logo  This library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the Government documents is guaranteed by public law.