USEM 170 - Theatre and the Spirit of Reform
FAL web page: www.lib.virginia.edu/fine-arts/
| Search strategies: | theatre/theater, performance, drama, stage
reform, race/racial, social change, labor, temperance Nineteenth, American, Chicano, Black, Women |
VIRGO - Keyword theater and nineteenth
It is always necessary to begin your searches by searching the U.Va. catalogues for books. The keys to a successful VIRGO search are to choose the correct index and to choose a search type which is most inclusive at the beginning. The search can then be limited to be more precise.
Databases
International Index to the Performing Arts
Indexes over 200 scholarly and popular periodicals covering dance, film, television, theater, opera, stagecraft, broadcast arts, and more. Full text for citations since 1998.
| Keyword | chicano and theater
drama and rac* |
MLA Modern Language Association
Worldwide sources for literature, languages, linguistics from over 4000 journals and series
| Keyword | theat* and nineteenth and women |
Covers the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to present and has almost 400,000 citations from 2,000 key English-language journals published worldwide. Includes book reviews.
|
Advanced search:
|
keyword
subject time period |
drama
temperance 1800D (use the browse list) |
Arts and Humanities Citation Index
Citation index covers 1300 arts and humanities journals and related articles from 5800 social science and science journals. Includes book reviews.
| Keyword | stage and nineteenth |
Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals in areas such as anthropology, asian studies, ecology, economics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, sociology, and statistics. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.
Print Resources
The New York Times Theatre Reviews. 1870-1919, with index volume; 1920-1970, with index volume. (FA-REF PN 1581.N38)
New York Theatre Critics' Reviews. annual volumes. 1940-1996. with indexes by actors, play writes, directors, choreographers, designers, etc. (FA Journals PN 1601 .N4)
Dictionary of the theatre : terms, concepts, and analysis. Patrice Pavis. (FA-REF PN 2035 .P313 1998)
The theatregoer's almanac : a collection of lists, people, history, and commentary on the American theatre. Thomas S. Hischak. (FA-REF PN2266 .H53 1997)
The Oxford illustrated history of theatre. edited by John Russell Brown. (FA-REF PN 2111.O84 1995)
Oxford Companion to the Theatre. (FA-REF PN2035.O93 1983)
The World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre. v. 1-2 (FA-REF PN1861.W67 1994)
Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu
Top of page | Back to Drama Classroom | Back to User Instruction