ARCH 821: Design Research Seminar, Landscape
VIRGO [truncation=$]
It is always necessary to begin your searches by searching the U.Va. catalogues for books. The keys to a successful VIRGO search are to choose the correct index and to choose a search type which is most inclusive at the beginning. The search can then be limited to be more precise.
There are three ways of searching VIRGO:
1-Keyword, a specific word or words relating to your topic.
2-First Words, the first words of your topic or title.
3-Exact, the exact words you are looking for such as an exact title or a specific name.
Within these categories there are several ways to construct your search. It is important to remember that VIRGO uses boolean operators (and/or/not) and that they are essential in constructing your searches. Also, VIRGO uses '$' as its truncation symbol. When searching VIRGO always choose 'ALL' Libraries. You do not want to eliminate the very important work that may be housed in Alderman or Clemons.
There are six indices within VIRGO:
1-Keyword anywhere - The broadest searching mechanism; looks for the words or phrases in the title, description, author field or anywhere in the record of the book.
2-Author - Searches only the author field of the record. This can prove a difficult search if the authors name is common (Smith, John) or if the author's name can be spelled several ways (as with some foreign names). If you do not know how the author spells his/her last name you may not be successful.
3-Title - Searches for words or phrases found only in the title eliminating what may be found in a description of the book.
4-Subject - This searches specifically for Library of Congress Subject Headings not a general subject. This can be a tricky search unless you are familiar with LC headings.
5-MeSH - Medical Subject Headings will not be applicable for an art topic.
6-Journal Title - Searches for all Journal Titles in the U.Va. collection. When searching for a specific Journal Title always eliminate any article at the beginning of the title (The, A, Le, L').
Databases
Searching in periodical databases will retrieve the most recent scholarship on the subject. Remember to tailor your search to your choice of database.
Avery Index - [?]
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present. The Avery Index is updated daily.
-
-
Sample Searches: KEYWORD landscape Simple Search: KEYWORD enclosed gardens typology KEYWORD enclosed gardens Advanced Search: KEYWORD light AND KEYWORD landscape KEYWORD landscape design AND SUBJECT time
-
Lists dissertations and many master's theses accepted at US graduate schools and universities along with some Canadian, British, and other European dissertations, beginning in1861. Abstracts included after July, 1980. Now part of Digital Dissertations including full text (PDF) of most dissertations accepted from 1997 on and also of some earlier works.
-
Basic search: KEYWORD architecture + KEYWORD engineering + KEYWORD infrastructure KEYWORD army corps of engineers + KEYWORD history
Includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Indexi which can be searched together or separately, The WOS databases include bibliographic and citation information for articles from over 5,700 science and engineering journals, 1,700 social sciences journals, and 1,100 arts and humanities journals. Updated weekly.
-
General search: TOPIC natural systems
TOPIC alternative constructionsAdvanced search: TS = (construction technolog*) AND TS = design
Access UN (United Nations Index) 1952+
Provides access to current and retrospective United Nations documents and publications. This index supports access to the comprehensive United Nations microfiche collection found in Government Information Resources.
-
ALL FIELDS sustainability SUBJECTS development
Citations for US government documents in all subjects. Updated monthly.
-
Basic search: remediation and contamination as KEYWORD
natural systems as KEYWORD
Large interdisciplinary engineering database, Ei Compendex*Plus covers journals, technical reports and conferences, and adds over 220,000 new abstracts each year. Includes book reviews.
-
Basic search: light and landscape as KEYWORD
(construction technology) and materials as KEYWORD
Newspapers
Lexis / Nexis Academic Universe - [!]
click on News || and then General News || Guided News Search
-
World News, North/South American News Sources: sustainability and land General News, Major papers: remediation and contamination
Other U.Va. Resources
University Library - GeoStat Center
University of Virginia Library - Special Collections
Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu
Top of page | Back to Architecture Classroom | Back to User Instruction