ARTH 491-5: Topography of Athens
FAL web page: http://www.lib.virginia.edu/fine-arts/index.html
| Search strategies: | architecture, mosaic, walls, bath, church, temple, archaeology
city, plan, topography, excavation, agora, stoa, garden, acropolis Athens, Herulian, Byzantine, Early Christian, Roman |
VIRGO - Keyword athens and city
Databases
Contains extensive and diverse resources including primary and secondary texts, site plans, digital images, and maps. Art and archaeology catalogs document a wide range of objects: over 1,500 vases, over 1,800 sculptures and sculptural groups, over 1,200 coins, hundreds of buildings from nearly 100 sites and over 100 gems.
Subject index for periodicals and books on classical and medieval art, archaeology, and humanities. Compiled at the German Archaeological Institute in Rome. Coverage begins in 1956 with annual updates.
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1860s) to the present. The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals is updated daily.
Art Index is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from periodicals published throughout the world. Periodical coverage includes English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Japanese, Spanish, Dutch, and Swedish. In addition to articles, Art Index indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Art Index Retrospective is a bibliographic database that cumulates citations to Art Index volumes 1-32 of the printed index published between 1929-1984. Art Full-Text indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. There is some Full-text coverage. Subjects indexed cover a wide range in the fine arts, architecture and the decorative arts
Photographs, notes, drawings, books and impressions from engraved gems and photographs of Athenian vases; the largest archive of this class in the world and the basis of Beazley's life work. Today the database has nearly 70,000 records, 30,000 images and 3,500 registered users.
The Pottery Database of the Archive contains information on 67,659 Athenian figure-decorated vases of the 7th-4th centuries BC and includes 17,871 images as well as reproductions of Beazley's drawings.
(BCIN) Conservation Information Network
One of three conservation databases first released in 1987, BCIN's objective is to facilitate the retrieval and exchange of information concerning conservation and restoration of cultural property. BCIN's contributing partners have brought together over 190,000 bibliographic records on conservation. A great deal of conservation literature is referenced, including the Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts, technical reports, conference proceedings, journal articles, books and audiovisual and unpublished materials. The database also includes previously unavailable material from private sources, as well as new information gathered by a worldwide network of contributors.
International Medieval Bibliography
(BHA) Bibliography of the History of Art
Full-text backfiles of many important scholarly journals in areas such as anthropology, asian studies, ecology, economics, education, history, literature, math, philosophy, politics, sociology, and statistics. Coverage is usually from the first issue to 3-5 years before the present.
Web Resources
TOCS-IN (Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists)
Provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals. The project began to archive current tables of contents in 1992, and now contains ca. 160 journals, and over 23,000 articles in a database at Toronto. Look here for current bibliography.
Athenian Agora (www.attalos.com)
Print Resources
A selective sampling of important series for this period:
Travlos, Pictorial Dictionary of Ancient Athens (FA-REF NA280 .T68 1971)
The Oxford Classical Dictionary (FA-REF DE5 .O9 1996)
Lexicon Iconongraphicum Mythologiae Classicae [LIMC] (FA-REF N7760.L49 1981)
Summary Guide to Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum (FA-REF NK4640 .C6Z9 2000)
Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum [CVA] (FA-OVERSIZE NK4640.C6) series
Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium, 3 vols. (FA-REF DF521 .O97 1991)
Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu
Top of page | Back to Art Classroom | Back to User Instruction