USEM 171 : Spacesuit: 1947-1974
VIRGO [truncation=$]
You can use VIRGO to search for videos in the U.Va. Libraries.
There are several ways of searching VIRGO for videos:
Choose the video search screen
1-Keyword Anywhere
2-Name(s)
3-Production Info
4-Subject
There are six indices within VIRGO:
1-Keyword anywhere - The broadest searching mechanism; looks for the words or phrases in the title, description, author field or anywhere in the record of the book.
2-Author - Searches only the author field of the record. This can prove a difficult search if the authors name is common (Smith, John) or if the author's name can be spelled several ways (as with some foreign names). If you do not know how the author spells his/her last name you may not be successful.
3-Title - Searches for words or phrases found only in the title eliminating what may be found in a description of the book.
4-Subject - This searches specifically for Library of Congress Subject Headings not a general subject. This can be a tricky search unless you are familiar with LC headings.
5-MeSH - Medical Subject Headings will not be applicable for an art topic.
6-Journal Title - Searches for all Journal Titles in the U.Va. collection. When searching for a specific Journal Title always eliminate any article at the beginning of the title (The, A, Le, L').
Databases
Searching in periodical databases will retrieve the most recent scholarship on your subject. Remember to tailor your search to your choice of database.
The Video encyclopedia of the 20th century - at Clemons Library
Presents an archival collection of motion pictures and videotape recordings documenting the social, political and cultural history of the 20th century.
InfoTrac One File - [*]
Huge general database of articles from popular magazines and scholarly journals covering a wide range of topics. Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily.
Periodicals Index Online (PIO) and Periodicals Archive Online (PAO)
Search for articles and book reviews in over 4000 international humanities and social sciences journals published from 1770-1995. Includes full text of articles in some 300 journals and links to the humanities and social science titles from JSTOR.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Search and see full text of articles from the New York Times (1851-1999), the Wall Street Journal (1889-1995), and the Washington Post (1877-1987). For more recent issues, use Factiva.
Virginia Center for Digital History
Television News of the Civil Rights Era 1950-1970 is an archive containing film footage from the nightly news from two local television stations in Virginia. Included are clips of Martin Luther King, John F. Kennedy, Richard M. Nixon, the governors of the Commonwealth of Virginia, as well as segments documenting school desegregation, public meetings, local debates over civil rights matters, and interviews with citizens.
Internet Archive - Prelinger Archives
Its goal is to collect, preserve, and facilitate access to films of historic significance that haven't been collected elsewhere. Included are films produced by and for many hundreds of important US corporations, nonprofit organizations, trade associations, community and interest groups, and educational institutions.
Art Index - [*]+
Art Index Retrospective indexes the 1929-1984 issues of 300 arts, architecture, design, and historic preservation, as well as architecture. Art FullText adds indexing and abstracts for 375 recent (1984-present) titles, with full text for 100 current titles.
Includes citations and abstracts for books, dissertations, exhibition catalogs, and articles from 1500 journals. Subjects covered include 20th century art history and criticism, design, photography (from 1839), architecture, and visual culture.
Contact the Librarian: Lucie Stylianopoulos | 924.6604 | lws4n@virginia.edu
Erika Day | 924.3341| eld2n@virginia.edu
Top of page | Back to Architecture Classroom | Back to User Instruction