Go to

Home | Virginia Genealogy: A Guide to Genealogical Resources at the University of Virginia, compiled by Jean L. Cooper, rev. ed. 2005-2009.

E-mail: jlc5f at virginia dot edu

 
Go to Virginia Genealogy home

U.S. -- Guides & Manuals

Alderman Stacks
CS14 .C38 1998
Carmack, Sharon DeBartolo, A genealogist's guide to discovering your female ancestors : special strategies for uncovering hard-to-find information about your female lineage. 1st ed. Cincinnati, Ohio : Betterway Books, c1998.
Alderman Stacks
HA214 .D65 2000
Dollarhide, William. The census book : a genealogist's guide to federal census facts, schedules and indexes : with master extraction forms for federal census schedules, 1790-1930. Bountiful, Utah : Heritage Quest, c2000.
Alderman Reference
Z1249 .N3 C63 2000
Coletta, Paolo. American naval history : a guide. 2nd ed. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2000.
Alderman Reference
CS47 .G73 1990
Greenwood, Val D. The researcher's guide to American genealogy. 2nd ed. Baltimore, MD : Genealogical Pub. Co., 1990.
Alderman Reference
CS49 .H66 1997

Hone, E. Wade. Land & property research in the United States. Salt Lake City, Utah : Ancestry, c1997.

Includes bibliography and index.

Alderman Stacks
CS49 .K4 2001
Kemp, Thomas Jay. The American census handbook. Wilmington, Del. : Scholarly Resources, 2001.
http://www.odl.state.ok.us/
usinfo/GenealogicalResources.pdf
Motes, Kevin D. et al. Genealogical Resources in U.S. Federal Depository Libraries. [Oklahoma City] : Oklahoma Dept. of Libraries, [2006].
Alderman Reference &
Gov Info Reading Room
Z 1249 .M5 N43 1994

Neagles, James C. U.S. military records : a guide to federal and state sources, Colonial America to the present. Salt Lake City, Utah : Ancestry, c1994.

Includes bibliographical references and index.

Alderman Stacks
CS 414 .S53 1994

Sheasby, Carolyn. In my father's house : a glimpse of the past through probate inventories. Keighley, W. Yorks : C. Sheasby, c1994.

Gov Info US
C 3.2:Ag 3/2
*Shelved on Aisle 13

Shepherd, JoAnn. Age search information. Washington, D.C. : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, Bureau of the Census : [Supt. of Docs., U.S. G.P.O, distributor,1990]
Alderman Stacks
CS 49 .T46 1993
Tepper, Michael. American passenger arrival records : a guide to the records of immigrants arriving at American ports by sail and steam. Updated and enl. Baltimore : Genealogical Pub. Co., 1993.

University of Virginia. Library. Diary research [electronic resource] : a guide to selected library and web resources at Alderman Library. [Charlottesville, Va.] : University of Virginia Library, 1998-[present.]

Reference webpage compiled by University of Virginia librarians C. Jared Loewenstein and Gary Treadway to direct researchers to University of Virginia Library collections as well as related Internet

Alderman Gov Docs US
Law Lib 2nd floor Documents
AE 1.113:67/998
United States. National Archives and Records Administration. Research in the land entry files of the General Land Office : Record Group 49. Rev. 1998. [Washington, D.C.] : National Archives and Records Administration, 1998.

Alderman Gov Docs US & Law Library
AE 1.124:110

United States. National Archives and Records Administration. Using civilian records for genealogical research in the National Archives, Washington, DC, area. Rev. 2006. Washington, D. C. : NARA, 2006.

 

 

 



University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113, Charlottesville, VA 22904-4113
ph: (434) 924-3021, fax: (434) 924-1431, library@virginia.edu

Text Version    |   Libraries   |   Depts./Contacts   |  U.Va. Home   |   ITC

Website Feedback   |   Search   |   Questions? Ask a Librarian   |   Hours   |   Map   |   Policies   |   Jobs

Tracking Opt-out    |   © by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Federal Library Depository logo  This library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the Government documents is guaranteed by public law.