Go to

Home | Virginia Genealogy: A Guide to Genealogical Resources at the University of Virginia, compiled by Jean L. Cooper, rev. ed. 2005-2009.

E-mail: jlc5f at virginia dot edu

 
Go to Virginia Genealogy home

Virginia -- Guides & Manuals

The following works are major reference sources for genealogical and historical works on Virginia. For beginning research, the three basic works are Brown, Stewart, and Swem.

Alderman Stacks
Z 1345 .A96 1990
Axelson, Edith F. A guide to Episcopal Church records in Virginia. San Bernardino, Calif. : Borgo Press, 1990, c1988.
Special Collections
F232 .S5 G57 1998
Good, Rebecca H. Finding your people in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia : a genealogical guide. 4th ed. Bowie, MD : Heritage Books, 1998.
Special Collections
F225 .G86 1998
Grundset, Eric. Research in Virginia. Arlington, Va. : National Genealogical Society, 1998.
Special Collections
E184.F89H5 1936
Hinshaw, William Wade. Encyclopedia of American Quaker Genealogy. Ann Arbor, Mich.: Edwards Brothers, 1936- .

Library has only vol. 6, "Virginia." A good compilation of records kept by the Quakers.
Alderman Reference & Alderman Stacks
F225 .V837 1986
Hogg, Anne M. Virginia cemeteries : a guide to resources. Charlottesville : Published for the University of Virginia Library by the University Press of Virginia,1986.

Gov Info Virginia
VSL 9/B 582 R/1 & 2

Special Collections
F225 .V893 1999

Library of Virginia. A guide to Bible records in the Library of Virginia. Compiled by Lyndon H. Hart III. Richmond : Library of Virginia, 1999. 2 v.

Originally published in 1985 with the title: A guide to Bible records in the Archives Branch, Virginia State Library.

Gov Docs Reading Room
Micfilm 5858

Library of Virginia. Archives and Records Division. Guide to county court records [microform]. Richmond, Va. : Virginia State Library and Archives, [1991?]

Virginia county court records on microfilm in the Archives and Records Division, Virginia State Library and Archives -- Virginia land tax records on microfilm in the Archives and Records Division, Virginia State Library and Archives -- Registers of births, deaths and marriages from the Bureau of Vital Statistics on microfilm in the Archives and Records Division, Virginia State Library and Archives.

Alderman Reference & Gov Info Reference
Z 1345 .M365 1993
McGinnis, Carol. Virginia genealogy : sources & resources. Baltimore : Genealogical Pub. Co., c1993.
Special Collections
F225 .V45 2000

Pippenger, Wesley E. Connections and separations : divorce, name change and other genealogical tidbits from the Acts of the Virginia General Assembly. Westminster, Md. : Willow Bend Books, 2000.

"This work is a selection of transcripts gleaned from the published Acts of the Virginia General Assembly. ... The focus of the present collection is [laws regarding] divorces and name changes. Every instance of these two activities that was found in the published acts has been included here. ... " -- p. iii.

Alderman Stacks
BX8947.V8 P7 1970
Presbyterian Church in the U.S. Synod of Virginia. Records of the Synod of Virginia, Presbyterian Church in the United States : the official records and relevant historical material of the Synod and its constituent presbyteries and churches on microfilm. Richmond : Synod of Virginia, 1970.
Alderman Stacks
BX8947.V8 P7 1985
Presbyterian Church in the U.S. Synod of Virginia. Continuation of the records of the Synod of Virginia, Presbyterian Church in the United States : the official records and relevant historical material of the Synod and its constituent presbyteries and churches on microfilm. [Roanoke, Va.] : Preservation of Historical Records, Synod of the Virginias, 1985.
Special Collections
CS16 .S3 2005
Schweitzer, George Keene. Virginia genealogical research. Knoxville, TN (407 Ascot Court, Knoxville 37923) : G. K. Schweitzer, c2005.

Alderman Reference
F224 .V52 1974

Gov Info Reference
MRD 3/In 3/20

Virginia. Division of Mineral Resources. Geographic and cultural names in Virginia. Charlottesville, 1974.
http://fisher.lib.virginia.edu/collections/gis/vagaz/

Virginia Gazetteer: Virginia geographic names information system interface with reference graphics [electronic resource]. Created by University of Virginia Library, Geographic Information Center. [Charlottesville, Va. : The Center, 1996].

This Virginia Gazetteer contains the official name, type, and location of over 51,000 geographic features in Virginia. It is based in large part on data from the Geographic Names Information System (GNIS), maintained by the US Geological Survey as the federal repository of official geographic names in the United States.

Special Collections
Z1345 .V63 1988
Vogt, John. Marriage records in the Virginia State Library : a researcher's guide. 2nd ed. Athens, Ga. : Iberian Pub. Co., 1988.
Alderman Reference
F225 .V983 1987
Vogt, John. Will and estate records in the Virginia State Library : a researcher's guide. Athens, Ga. : Iberian Pub. Co., 1987.

 




University of Virginia Library
PO Box 400113, Charlottesville, VA 22904-4113
ph: (434) 924-3021, fax: (434) 924-1431, library@virginia.edu

Text Version    |   Libraries   |   Depts./Contacts   |  U.Va. Home   |   ITC

Website Feedback   |   Search   |   Questions? Ask a Librarian   |   Hours   |   Map   |   Policies   |   Jobs

Tracking Opt-out    |   © by the Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia

Federal Library Depository logo  This library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the Government documents is guaranteed by public law.