Christmas Music
Search VIRGO, the University of Virginia Library Catalog, to see whether a title has been checked out.
(CD=compact disc; C=cassette; LP=long-playing record)
Web Sites
Christmas Song Guitar Tab & Lyrics provides Christmas songs and lyrics for favorite traditional song and guitar tabulatures for new Christmas songs by U2, the Kinks, Blues Traveller and others.
Noel, Noel, Noel has a small collection of Christmas carols arranged for piano and voice, with guitar chords.
Recordings
- Adeste fideles: Christmas music from Westminster Cathedral Choir. CD 4895
- An Advent procession with carols from King's / Choir of King's College, Cambridge. CD 7894 disc 3
- An American Christmas, 1770-1870 / Boston Camerata; Schola Cantorum of Boston. CD 4670
- An American festival of lessons & carols / Memphis Boychoir. CD 04136
- American folksongs for Christmas / Mike, Peggy, and Penny Seeger. CD 6573, LP 18076
- Anglo-Saxon Christmas : 10th-century chant from the Winchester Troper / Schola Gregoriana of Cambridge. CD 4150
- Bach, Johann Sebastian.
- Christmas music. CD 2385
- Christmas oratorio. CD 105, CD 2238, CD 6247, C 136 OVERSIZE, LP 10471, LP 13093
- Magnificat. CD 3783, CD 3529, CD 2385, CD 82
- A baroque Christmas / Boston Camerata. CD 3917
- Berlioz, Hector. L'enfance du Christ. CD 5325
- Bridge, Frank. The Christmas rose. LP 8838
- Bright day star : music for the Yuletide season / Baltimore Consort. CD 5124
- Britten, Benjamin.
- A boy was born. CD 3163
- Ceremony of carols. CD 1721, CD 3163, LP 7054, LP 17513
- Caldara, A. Christmas cantata. C 587
- Cantorum Christmas / Soli Deo Gloria Cantorum. CD 7270
- Ceremonies of carols (Christmas music by Britten, Poulenc, and Respighi). CD 1721
- Chants de l'Eglise Milanaise / Ensemble organum. CD 2007
- Charpentier, Marc Antoine.
- Les antiennes "O" de l'Avent ; Noel sur les instruments; In nativitatem D.N.J.C. canticum. CD 2686
- Messe de minuit pour noel. CD 3398
- The Christmas album. Taverner Choir, Consort and Players. CD 3922
- Christmas cantata. C 485
- Christmas carols and motets / Tallis Scholars. CD 3004
- Christmas carols from King's College / Choir of King's College, Cambridge. CD2179, CD 7894 disc 1
- Christmas concert by the Regensburg Domspatzer / Regensburg Domspatzer (German Christmas music). C 1083
- Christmas concertos / English Concert. CD 3336
- Christmas concertos / Solisti italiani. CD 4713
- Christmas eve at King's College, Cambridge. C 380
- Christmas in Venice./ Monteverdi Choir; Philip Jones Brass Ensemble. CD 3939
- Christmas music from King's / Choir of King's College, Cambridge. CD 7894 disc 4
- Christmas music from Williamsburg. C 443
- Christmas music of the French Baroque = Weihnachtsmusik des franzoesischen Barock / Rudolf Ewerhart, organ; Deutschen Barocksolisten. CD 2112
- The Christmas revels. LP 7990
- Christmas star : carols for the Christmas season / Cambridge Singers. CD 7195
- Christmas with Byrd & brass / Annapolis Brass Quintet. CD 3108
- Christmas with CONCORA. CD 5366
- Corelli, A. Christmas concerto. CD 2337, CD 3151, CD 3336, CD 4154, CD 4713
- Creator of the stars: Christmas music from earlier times / Pomerium Musices. CD 5241
- Crumb, G. A little suite for Christmas, A.D. 1979. CD 1411
- Crescent City Christmas Card / Wynton Marsalis. CD 7883
- A DDD Christmas / The King's Singers; City of London Sinfonia; Taverner Consort Choir & Players; New York Choral Artists, et al. CD 2492
- December / George Winston, piano. LP 11929
- Deilig er jorden / Oslo Domkor; Oslo Domkirkes Guttekor; Consortium Vocale (English, Norwegian carols). CD 1890
- Festival of lessons and carols / King's College (University of Cambridge) CD 2180, CD 7894 disc 2
- French noels for organ. C 599
- A fresh aire Christmas / Mannheim Steamroller. CD 1788
- Handel, G. F. Messiah, Pt. 1. CD 23, CD 864, CD 3193, CD 4186, CD 4764, CD 6000 (gospel arr.) C 536 OVERSIZE
- Happy holidays from the United States Army Field Band. LP 8676
- Hark! / Richard Stoltzman, clarinet. CD 3926
- Heavens resound! : a Baroque Christmas celebration : festive music of Buxtehude, Fux, Veracini and Schuetz / New York Baroque ; The Sarum Consort. CD 6301
- Honegger, Arthur.Une cantate de Noel. CD 1106
- In a Cold Winter's Night. Renaissance, early North and South American, and 20th century Christmas music for unaccompanied choir / His Majestie's Clerkes. CD 11991
- In natali domini: Christmas music in Spain and the Americas in the 16th century / Colombina. CD 4990
- Jackson Berkey's Cantorum Christmas! / Soli Deo Gloria Cantorum. CD 7270
- Jazz "holiday" classics. MT68 .A42 v.78 (score + CD)
- Joyeux Noel / James Johnson, organ. CD 2178 Jazz "holiday" classics. MT68 .A42 v.78 (score + CD)
- Legends of Saint Nicholas / Anonymous 4. CD 7861
- Masters in this hall / Washington Men's Camerata. CD 4113
- McEwen, John B. Hymn on the morning of Christ's Nativity. CD 7350
- A medieval Christmas / Boston Camerata. CD 7293
- Menotti, G. Amahl and the night visitors. LP 983, LP 16766, CD 7258
- Nativity : Renaissance motets for Christmas / Zephyrus. CD 6388
- News of great joy / His Majestie's Clerkes. CD 4120
- Noel, Noel!: noels francais 1200-1600 / Boston Camerata. CD 2742
- Noel! Noel! Noel! Christmas with Michala Petri (recorder music) CD 3410
- Nova stella : a medieval Italian Christmas / Altramar. CD 7156
- Now it is Christmas again / Garrison Keillor. CD 7161
- Now make we merthe / The Purcell Consort of Voices; Boys of All Saints; London Brass Ensemble. CD 4862
- On Yoolis night : medieval carols / Anonymous 4. CD 4538
- Our heart's joy: a Chanticleer Christmas. CD 3433
- Palestrina, Giovanni Pierluigi de. Missa Hodie Christus natus est. CD 7285
- Pinkham, Daniel. Christmas cantata et. al. CD 4271
- Procession with carols / King's College (University of Cambridge) CD 2181
- Psallite! a Renaissance Christmas / Chanticleer.. CD 3433
- Ritual : Le mystere des voix bulgares / Bulgarian State Television Female Vocal Choir. CD 6568
- Rosenmüller, Weihnachtshistorie. CD 11576
- Rutter, John.
- Gloria. C 1193, LP 7980
- Magnificat. CD 3010
- Saint-Saens, Camille. Christmas oratorio. CD 6586, LP 8789, LP 11008
- Scarlatti, Alessandro. Christmas cantata. CD 5290
- Schuetz, Heinrich.
- Historia der Geburt Jesu Christi. CD 3172, CD 1215, CD 2645
- Weinachtshistorien. CD 2645, CD 4830
- Serenade for a Christmas night / Philip Brunelle, organ ; Lynne Aspnes, harp ; David John Olsen, vibraphone. CD 7160
- Sing Christmas / Shirley Collins, Ewan MacColl, Peggy Seeger, more. CD9235
- Songs for a Williamsburg Christmas / Williamsburg Madrigal Singers. C 375
- Songs of Christmas : from the Alan Lomax Collection CD 8056
- Stradella, Alessandro. Weihnachtskantaten = Christmas cantatas. CD 2687
- Strauss, Johann. Die Fledermaus. CD 1277, LP 17207, LP 17220
- Tallis, Christmas Mass. CD 11865
- The Christmas album / Taverner Consort (music from Europe and America) CD 3922
- Tchaikovsky, Peter.
- Nutcracker ballet. CD 1263, C 280, LP 11635, LP 14199; CLEMONS VIDEO .VHS 1649;
- Nutcracker suite. CD 283, CD 1271
- 20th century Christmas collection / The Sixteen. CD 4388
- Vaughan Williams Fantasia on Christmas Carols & Hodie: A Christmas Cantata CD 8753
- Vivaldi, Antonio.
- Gloria. CD 3783, CD 4154, C 464
- Winter from Four seasons. CD 141, CD 145, CD 3316
- A Waverly Consort Christmas. CD 5184
- Weihnachtsmusik des franzoesischen Barock = Christmas music of the French Baroque / Rudolf Ewerhart, organ; Deutschen Barocksolisten. CD 2112
- What songs were sung / Lisa Edwards-Burrs, soprano; Lynne Abbey-Lee, harp; Karen Haid, flute. CD 7486
- What Cheer! / Gloria Dei Cantores. CD 5378
- While Shepherds Watched: Christmas music from English parish churches, 1740-1830 / Psalmody. CD 491
- Winter solstice / John McCutcheon, vocals and dulcimer. CD 4415
- Winter's Song / Susquehanna singing school. CD 9144
Printed Music
Carols, compilations (classical and contemporary)
browse by call number: M 1629.3 .C5
Choral
- Advent for choirs. Compiled by M. Archer and S. Cleobury. M2060 .A38 2000
- Carols and lullabies : Christmas in the Southwest : for SATB chorus, harp, guitar and marimba. M 2021 .S87 C3 1993
- A CASA Christmas. Volume I. M 1629.3 .C5 C37 1997 v.1
- The Chester book of carols. M 2060 .C43 1985
- Christmas motets / edited by John Rutter. M 2085 .C57 1999
- The Christmas Revels songbook M 1629.3 .C5 C5 1985
- Cohen, J. A Medieval Christmas. M 2065 .M42 1986
- The Ditson Christmas carol book. M 2065 .D57 1936
- The international book of Christmas carols / compiled by W. Ehret. M2065 .E416 1980
- Joy to the world! / ed. John Rutter. M 1999 .J69 1981
- The King's Singers choral library : Christmas collection. M1629.3 .C5 K56 1995
- Lassus, O. Motets for the Christmas season. M 2082.L38 M6 1999
- O holy night / ed. John Rutter. M2065 .O36 1981
- New Oxford book of carols. M 2065 .N48 1992; M2065 .N48 1998
- 100 carols for choirs. M 2065 .C37 1987
- Tavener, John. Christmas choral collection. M2085.T38 C5 1999
- The promised Messiah: a festival of nine lessons and carols / by Philip Ledger. M 1629.3 .C5 P76 1998
- The Shaw-Parker book of Christmas carols. M 2065 .S52 1991
- The shorter New Oxford book of carols. M2065 .S57 1993
- The Westminster carol book. M 2065 .B36 W4 1992
- What a morning! : the Christmas story in Black spirituals. EDUCATION M 1670.W48 1987
Vocal solos
- The Christmas collection: 53 songs for classical singers. M 1629.3 .C5 C473 2002 (high); M 1629.3 .C5 C474 2002 (low)
- Christmas solos for all ages. M 1629.3 .C5 C52 2001 (high); M 1629.3 .C5 C524 2001 (medium); M 1629.3 .C5 C522 2001 (low)
- Classical carols. M 1629.3 .C5 C54 1992 (high); M 1629.3 .C5 C55 1992 (low)
Piano/vocal/guitar
- Berlin, Irving. White Christmas: movie vocal selections. M 1508.9.B47 W5 2000
- Big book of Christmas songs. M 1629.3 .C5 B5 1991
- The complete Christmas music collection. M 1629.3 .C5 C59 1998
- Contemporary Christian Christmas. M 1629.3 .C5 C6 2000
- The Great songs & carols of Christmas. M1629.3.C5 G7 1990
- Mary did you know? plus 24 new inspirational Christmas favorites. M 1629.3 .C5 M37 1999
- Mel Bay presents Early American Christmas music. M 1629.3 .C5 M44 1995
- Jazz "holiday" classics. MT68 .A42 v.78 (score + CD)
- A John Denver Christmas. M1629.3 .C5 J63 1998
- Reader's Digest merry Christmas songbook. M 1629.3 .C5 R4 1981
- Twenty-five top Christmas songs. M 1629.3 .C5 T8 1989
- The ultimate Christmas fake book: for piano, vocal, guitar, electronic keyboards, and all "C" instruments. M1629.3 .C5 U47 2002
Works for choir or stage
- Bach, J.S. Christmas oratorio. M 2000 .B15 W27 1992; M 2003 .B12 W42 1968
- Bach, J.S. Magnificat. M 2020 .B16 S.243 .D8 1978; MINIATURE M 2079 .L6 B3 1979
- Berlioz, H. L'enfance du Christ. M 2000.B36 E5 1999
- Britten, B. A boy was born. M 1610.B75 B7 1958
- Britten, B. Ceremony of carols. M 2074.3 .B74 op.28 1943
- Casals, P. El pessebre = The manger. M 2003.C372 P4 1999
- Charpentier, M. Christmas cantata. M 2023 .C436 I5 1994
- Gounod, Ch. Béthléem. M 2085 .C57 1999
- Handel, G. F. Messiah, Pt. 1. M 2000 .H22 M44 1989; M 2003 .H33 M4 1947; M 2003 .H33 M4 1987; M 2003 .H33; M4 1992
- Honegger, A. Une cantate de Noel. M2023.H66 C3 1980
- Larson, L. So blessedly it sprung. M 2022.L37 S6 1998
- Menotti, G. Amahl and the night visitors. M 1503 .M44 A4
- Poulenc, Francis. Quatre motets pour le temps de Noël. M2095 .P68 M6 1996
- The promised Messiah: a festival of nine lessons and carols / by Philip Ledger. M 1629.3 .C5 P76 1998
- Renaissance Christmas motets. M 2085 .R43 1986
- Rutter, J. Magnificat. M 2023 .R88 M3 1991
- Saint-Saëns, C. Christmas oratorio. M 2003 .S15 O7 1993
- Schutz, Weihnachts- Historie. M 2003 .H37 SWV435 1998
- Strauss, J. Die Fledermaus. M 1503 .S798 F43 1968
- Vaughan Williams, R. Fantasia on Christmas carols. M 1000.V38 D6 1999
- Vivaldi, A. Gloria. M 2020 .V58 G5 1984; M 2023 .V63 G53 1967
Instrumental
- Best, W.T. A Christmas fantasy on Old English carols : for organ. M14.5.C5 B47 2000z
- Bridge, Frank. Christmas dance : for string quartet. M452.B856 S5 2000p
- Busoni, F. Nuit de Noël : for piano. M 25.B87 N8 1999
- Callahan, Charles. A Christmas prelude : for flute and organ. M 184 .C34 C4 1989
- Corelli, A. Christmas concerto. M 1140 .C67 op.6 1988
- Cowper, R. Gloria in excelsis : for four recorders. M558 .T57 2003
- Foote, Arthur. Christmas, Op. 80 : for organ. M 11 .F66 op.80 1999
- French noëls for organ. M7 .F786 1997
- Gigout, E. Rhapsody on Christmas themes : for organ. M11.G53 R5 1999
- Lilburn, Douglas. Musical offerings: piano. M22 .L54 M8 2004
- Liszt, Franz. Weihnachtsbaum = Christmas tree : for piano four hands. M558 .T57 2003
- Mannheim Steamroller Christmas extraordinaire : piano solo arranged by Chip Davis. M32.8 .M36 2001
- Mazurek, R. Christmas medley : for brass quintet. M557.4.M39 C5 1976
- My first book of Christmas songs : 20 favorite songs in easy piano arrangements. M1629.3 .C5 M9 1997
- Reed, Alfred. Joyeux noël : for brass choir. M 1268.R43 J6 1999
- Rorem, Ned. Piano album. M22.R668 P5 2003
- Sounding brass! Book 2, Nine Christmas carols : for two trumpets, horn, trombone, and tuba (or bass trombone) M558 .S68 1997p
- Tchaikovsky, P. Nutcracker suite. M 1003 .C43 op. 71a 1987
- 3 medieval carols : for brass quintet / arranged by Eddie Bass. M558 .T57 2003
- Vivaldi, A. Winter from Four seasons. MINIATURE M 1112 .V59 C5 1950