Directories in the Performing Arts
Phillip Crabtree and Donald H. Foster, Sourcebook for Research in Music (ML 113 .C68 1993), pp. 3238 provides a general description and listing of types of directories for music. In the University of Virginia Music Library, printed directories of musical organizations and institutions are often classified in ML12-ML21.
- Billboard International Buyer's Guide. Los Angeles: Billboard Publications (Ref. ML18.B54).
- Lists names and addresses for the music industry, including record and video companies, music publishers, retail suppliers of music and instruments, and industry services such as professional associations, licensing organizations, music libraries, and public relations firms.
- European Music Directory. Munchen: K.G. Sauer, 1999. 2 vols. (Ref ML21 .E9 E93 1999).
- Similar in scope to Musical America International Directory but with European emphasis.
- International Who's Who in Music and Musicians' Directory. Cambridge, Eng.: International who's who in music. 2 vols. (Ref ML 106 .G7 W442)
- Vol 1 includes classical and light classical musicians; vol. 2, popular musicians. Brief biographical entries include date of birth, career synopsis, and current address.
- Musical America International Directory of the Performing Arts. Great Barrington, Mass.: ABC Leisure Magazines. (Ref. ML12.M88) Duckles/Reed 11.45.
- Provides names and addresses for orchestras, dance and opera companies, choral groups, festivals, music schools, competitions, publishers, etc. Although international in scope, the focus is primarily on North America.
- Directory of Music Faculties in Colleges and Universities, U.S. and Canada. [n.p.] College Music Society. (Ref. ML13.D57) Duckles/Reed 11.23.
- Published biennially. Lists departments and schools of music in college and universities by state and the faculty members at each. Entries include the mailing address and telephone number for each department. Part II lists names of professors by area of specialization.
- Directory of Music Research Libraries. Répertoire International des Sources Musicales, Series C. Kassel: Bärenreiter. (Ref. ML113.I6 ser.C) Duckles/Reed 7.1.
- Arranged by country. Provides information on the collections, services, and literature about libraries that hold significant materials for music research. Also available from RISM Online. See The Golden Pages: University Music Departments' and Faculties' Home Pages (Royal Holloway University of London).