Reviews of Recordings
All Music Guide presents reviews and ratings for the top recordings selected by teams of music reviewers from around the world from a database of over 535,000 recordings. The rating scheme allows users to see at a glance what they judget to be the best albums for any particular artist or group.
allrecordlabels.com is "a comprehensive listing of over 9200 record labels indexed by genre, format, and location."
Amazon.com carries reviews, reproduced from various sources, for many of the recordings they offer.
Classical CD Review is a site not intended to be comprehensive, but to appeal to "the serious classical CD collector".
GramoFile on the Web contains classical music reviews which appeared Gramophone from March 1983 onwards, numbering more than 24,000.
International Index to Music Periodicals provides indexing for more than 375 international music periodicals and feature music articles and obituaries from The New York Times and The Washington Post, including sound recording reviews. Abstracts are included for records from 1996 forward. Available only to U.Va. users.
The Jazz Review offers reviews of new jazz releases, an archive of reviews from 1997 to the present, and a daily audio review in RealPlayer format, as well as other related features.
Musical Traditions, "the magazine for traditional musics throughout the world", carries current reviews and an archive of 550+ older reviews of sound recordings of traditional music.
Muze is the online version of the in-store music information system, providing biographies, reviews, performers, producers, track listings, and more for sound recordings in both popular and classical music genres.
Q 4 Music has a review archive with over 18,000 entries, covering popular music and recording artists from 1987 on.
RoJoRa is an index to articles, discographies, and record reviews in the music press worldwide on jazz, blues, country, gospel, rap, reggae, punk, world and other popular music genres. From January 1992 to the present. Includes record label information.