Check-list of Shape-Note Hymnals
Musical life in post-colonial rural America was intertwined with both the social and religious culture. The census of 1800 shows 95 per cent of the population lived outside the cities, so rural society was the norm [Irving L. Sablowsky, American Music (Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1969), p. 35]. A singing school teacher would travel from town to town, offering one or two weeks of singing school at each stop for a small fee plus room and board with one of the families of the community. Thus, the singing school provided a social as well as a pedagogical event for all ages. In addition, many of the songs were sacred and could be used in worship services.
Singing schools began in New England and spread throughout the states, aided by these singing school masters, evangelistic revival movements like the "Great Awakening" of 1800, and a newly invented system of musical notation-shape-notes.
Tunebooks used by the singing school masters were oblong in shape - twice as wide as high, often began with "an easy introduction to the rudiments of music", and contained a variety of secular glees and odes as well as sacred song. The particular genre of shape-note books originated from The Easy Instructor (1798) by William Little and William Smith. The system is based on the English solmization of fa, sol, la, fa, sol, la, mi, fa - compared to the Italian system do, re, mi, fa, so, la, ti, do - which is more familiar today. Since there were only four separate syllables in the "fasola" system, four shapes are sufficient for the notation. Smith and Little used these shapes. The purpose of the shapes is to simplify learning music reading, apparently successfully so, if judged by the wide adoption of the system by other tunebook compilers.
The rival shape-note system is based on seven shapes, and can be traced back to Joseph Funk's Choral-Music (1816), published in Harrisonburg, Virginia, for German-speaking Mennonites [William Jensen Reynolds, A Survey of Christian Hymnody (New York: Holt, Rinehart and Winston, 1963), p. 115]. The actual seven shapes were varied by the different tunebook compilers, but were based on the "do, re, mi" syllabification.
The hymns were printed on an open staff, usually with three or four parts, but sometimes just two. Characteristically the melody would be in the tenor part, with treble, alto, and bass harmony. Typically, men's and women's voices were doubled on all parts but the bass.
The decade of the 1870s marked a change in the shape- note hymnal tradition. The Olive Leaf (1878) was a pivotal collection. It was one of the last using the traditional style of spiritual folk song, and one of the first to reveal the impact of the gospel hymn [Hugh Wiley Hitchcock, Music in the United States: a historical introduction (Englewood Cliffs, N. J.: Prentice-Hall, 1969), p. 100]. Also, many hymnals began to appear in a format higher than wide, with the hymns characteristically in four parts on a closed staff.
In the early twentieth century many hymnals were published simultaneously in round (i.e. standard) notation and in shape notes. During the middle decades, interest in shape note sings seemed to narrow geographically to the Deep South, but recent scholarship and spreading grass roots participation in "sings" seems to indicate a resurgence of interest in this uniquely American music [A discussion of the current oral tradition of shape-note singing is in Buell E. Cobb, Jr. The Sacred Harp (Athens, Ga.: The University of Georgia Press, 1978)].
The Rare Book Department of Alderman Library holds eighty- seven shape-note hymnals dating from 1798 to 1937 and comprises a particularly distinctive collection of shape-note hymnals published in the Shenandoah Valley, as well as a few published elsewhere.
An 1819 edition of Kentucky Harmony (1st edition-1816) by the renowned Ananias Davisson of Harrisonburg, Virginia, and several of his later works are available here in the University's collection [Further information is in Rachel A. B. Harley, Ananias Davisson (Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Microfilms, 1972)].
Joseph Funk's German hymnal of 1816 began a family-related interest in shape-note hymnody which included his grandson, Aldine S. Kieffer and a more distant relative, A. J. Showalter, all represented in our collection. Kieffer's publishing associate James H. Ruebush is also noted as a compiler of hymnals. Most of the post-Civil War hymnals in our collection were published by the Ruebush-Kieffer Company [The role of the Shenandoah Valley compilers and publishers is discussed in: Charles Hamm, "Folk Hymns of the Shenandoah Valley", the Virginia Cavalcade, Autumn 1956, pp. 14-19; Harry Lee Eskew, Shape-note Hymnody in the Shenandoah Valley, 1816-1860 (Ann Arbor: University Microfilms International,1979); Paul M. Hall, The Musical Million (Ann Arbor: University of Michigan Microfilms, 1970)].
The University's fascinating collection of shape-note hymnals is indebted to the John Powell estate, Winston Wilkinson, and the Coles Fund for many of these acquisitions.
A problem related to the use of this collection has been limited access through the card catalogue. Standard cataloging practice has no uniform classification to indicate the use of shape notes in a particular hymnal, nor is there a subject heading more closely defined than HYMNS,ENGLISH. A further local complicating factor is the lack of duplicate cards in the Music Library's card catalog. The purpose of this bibliography, therefore, is two-fold: to draw attention to this significant collection and to assist in easier access to these materials.
Some major studies have already been published about the shape-note tradition and resources. George Pullen Jackson's studies, between 1930 and his death in 1953, are pioneer works in this genre. Actual performances of this music are available for listening through sound recordings. However,the listener should note the two types available: authentic performance practice and concert versions of these hymns.
Several areas of further study might be done from a bibliographic, a musical, a sociological, or a religious viewpoint. One area, for example, of interest to the present writer would be study of individual or related hymnals of the post-Civil War era [A useful check-list for study of pre-Civil War four-shape shape-note hymnals is: Richard J. Stanislaw, A checklist of four-shape shape-note tunebooks (Brooklyn: Institute for Studies in American Music, c1978)].
-
Aikens, J. B., comp.
- The Christian minstrel; a new system of musical notation, with a collection of psalms, tunes, anthems, and chants, selected from the most popular works in Europe and America. Designed for the use of churches, singing schools, and societies. Philadelphia: E. C. & J. Biddle, [1848?]. 412+ p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2117 .A5C4 1848
-
Aikens, J. B., comp.
- The Christian minstrel; a new system of musical notations, with a collection of psalm tune, anthems, and chants, selected from the most popular works in Europe and America. Designed for the use of churches, singing schools, and societies. Philadelphia: T. K. Collins, jr. [etc.] , 1855. 19-400+ p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2117 .A5C4 1855
-
Aikens, J. B., comp.
- The Christian minstrel; a new system of musical notation, with a collection of psalm tunes, anthems, and chants selected from the most popular works in Europe and America. Designed for the use of churches, singing-schools, and societies. 130th edition. Philadelphia: S. C. Collins; J. B. Lippencott, [etc] , 1859. 416 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2117 .A5C4 1859
-
Beazley, Samuel W.
- Best of all; a superior and varied collection of gospel songs and hymns for Sunday schools, church services, prayer meetings, revival meetings, young people's societies, and all kinds of religious works. By Samuel W. Beazley and James H. Ruebush. Dayton, Va.: Ruebush-Kieffer Co., [1907]. 250 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2193 .B4B4 1907
-
Beazley, Samuel W.
- Crown Him King; for the church, Sunday school,evangelistic services, and conventions by Samuel W. Beazley,James H. Ruebush, Will H. Ruebush, associate McD. Weams [and others]. Dayton Va.: The Ruebush-Kieffer Co., c1914. unpaged. 285 songs.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2193 .B4C7 1914a
-
Beazley, Samuel W.
- Gleanings of praise; a superior and varied collection of gospel songs and hymns for Sunday schools, church services, prayer meetings, revival meetings, young people's societies, and all kinds of religious work. By Samuel W. Beazley, Jacob Good, J. S. Torbett, and J. M. Good. Associates P. M. Claunts and H. P. Blackwell. Dayton, Va.: Ruebush-Kieffer Co., [1905]. unpaged. 253 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2193 .B4 G5 1905
-
Beazley, Samuel W.
- Sparkling jewels, no. 2; a little book with a big mission. Compiled for revivals, Sunday schools, singing schools, and all gatherings where gospel songs are used by Samuel W. Beazley and James H. Ruebush. Dayton, Va.: The Ruebush-Kieffer Co., c1912. unpaged. 83 songs.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2193 .B47 1912
-
Blake, William B., comp.
- Sabbath bells; for the Sunday school, and for prayer, praise, and gospel meetings. With A. J. Showalter, B. F. Nysewander. and Chas. Edw. Prior as special contributors. [Dayton, Va.: Ruebush, Kieffer & Co.], c1884. 112 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2193 .B63 1884
-
Clayton, David L., comp.
- The Virginia harmony; a new and choice selection of psalm and hymn tunes, anthems, and set pieces, in three and four parts, some of which have never before been published--prepared for the use of singing societies, teachers of sacred music, and individual instruction. To which is prefixed an introduction explanatory of the system, and a series of progressive lessons. By David L. Clayton and James P . Carrell . . . Winchester , [Va.]: Printed by Samuel S. Davis, 1831. xiv, [15]-167 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 1999 .C4 1831
-
Clayton, David L., comp.
- The Virginia harmony; a new and choice selection of psalm and hymn tunes, anthems, and set pieces, in three and four parts, some of which have never before been published--prepared for the use of singing societies, teachers of sacred music, and individual instruction. To which is prefaced an introduction explanatory of the system and a series of progressive lessons. By David L. Clayton and James P. Carrell. 2nd edition, revised and enlarged by D. L. Clayton. Winchester, [Va.]: Printed by Robinson & Hollis, 1836. 200 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 1999 .C4 1836
-
Condo, A. B.
- Hymns of the Upper Room; for church, Sunday school, young people, and evangelistic services. Authors Rev. A. B. Condo and W. H. Ruebush. Printed in both round and shaped notes. Dayton, Va.: The Ruebush-Kieffer Co.; Lebanon, Ohio: Condo Song Book Co., c1937. 182+ songs.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2193 .C6 1937
-
Dale, Rev. W. T.
- Last words: or, Spirit whispers; a collection of hymns suggested by the last words of dying Christians, and other songs. Dayton, Va.: Ruebush, Kieffer; Cumberland Presbyterian Publishing House, [1878] . 80 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2117 .D3L3 1878
-
Davisson, Ananias, comp.
- Kentucky harmony; or, a choice collection of psalm tunes, hymns, and anthems; in four parts. Taken from the most eminent authors, and well adapted to Christian churches, singing schools, or private societies. 2nd edition. Harrisonburg, Va.: Printed and sold by the author, [1819]. 148 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 1999 .D3 1819
-
Davisson, Ananias, comp.
- Kentucky harmony; or, a choice collection of psalm tunes, hymns, and anthems, in four parts. Taken from the most eminent authors, and well adapted to Christian churches,singing schools, or private societies. 5th edition. Harrisonburg, Va.: Printed and sold by the author, 1826. 158, [2] p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 1999 .D3 1826
-
Davisson, Ananias, comp.
- A small collection of sacred music; chiefly taken from The Kentucky harmony and supplement. Mount-Vernon, Va.: Printed by Ananias Davisson, [183_?] . 62 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 1999 .D32 1830
-
Durand, Silas Horton, ed.
- Hymn and tune book for use in Old School or Primitive Baptist churches.; Compiled by Silas H. Durand and P. G. Lester. 7th edition. Greenfield, Indiana: D. H. Goble, [l886] . 88 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M2122 .D9 H9 1886
-
Funk, Joseph, comp.
- Die allgemein nützliche choral=musik, enthaltend; auserlesene melodien, welche bei allen religions=verfassungen gebräuchlich sind. Auf zwei stimmen gesetzt. Begleitet, mit einer, zum grunde der vocal=musik vollständigen einleitung. Eingerichtet zum gebrauch des öffentlichen Gottendienstes, sing=schulen und privat=ubungen. Harrisonburg, Rockingham Co., Va.: Gedruckt bei Lorentz Wartmann, [1816?] . 88 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 1999 .F78 1816
-
Funk, Joseph, comp.
- The Christian harp and Sabbath school songster; designed for the use of the social religious circle, revivals, and the Sabbath school. Singer's Glenn, Rockingham Co., Va.: Joseph Funk's Sons, Printers, 1866. 95, [1] P.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2193 .F86 1866
-
Funk, Joseph, comp.
- The Christian harp and Sabbath school songster; designed for the use of the social religious circle, revivals, and the Sabbath school. [3rd edition]. Singer's Glen, Rockingham Co., Va.: Joseph Funk's Sons, Printers, 1867. 112 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2193 .F86 1867
-
Funk, Joseph, comp.
- The Christian Harp and Sabbath school songster; designed for the use of the social religious circle, revivals, and the Sabbath school. Singer's Glen, Rockingham Co., Va.: Joseph Funk's Sons, 1869. 127 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2193 .F86 1869
-
Funk, Joseph, comp.
- A compilation of genuine church music; comprising a variety of metres, all harmonized for three voices; together with a copious elucidation of the science of vocal music. Winchester, [Va.] : Printed at the office of the Republican J. W. Hollis, printer, 1832. xxvi, [27]- 208 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2117 .F95 C5 1832
-
Funk, Joseph, comp.
- A compilation of genuine church music; comprising a variety of metres, all harmonized for three voices; together with a copious elucidation of the science of vocal music. Robinson & Hollis, printers, 1835. 123 [i.e. 223] p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2117 .F95 C5 1835
-
Funk, Joseph, comp.
- A compilation of genuine church music; comprising a variety of metres, all harmonized for three voices; together with a copious elucidation of the science of vocal music. 3rd edition, improved and enlarged, besides an appendage of 40 pages of choice music. Harrisonburg, [Va.]: Henry T. Wartmann, printer, 1842. 240, 40 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2117 .F95 C5 1842
-
Funk, Joseph, comp.
- A compilation of genuine church music; comprising a variety of metres, all harmonized for three voices; together with a copious elucidation of the science of vocal music. 4th edition, improved and enlarged, with the appendage blended with the body of the work. Mountain Valley, near Harrisonburg, Va.: 1847. 288 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2117 .F95 C5 1847
-
Funk, Joseph, comp.
- Harmonia sacra; being a compilation of genuine church music, comprising a variety of metres; all harmonized for three voices, together with a copious elucidation of the science of vocal music. Exemplified and illustrated by tables in a plain and comprehensive manner. By Joseph Funk and sons. From the 4th edition, newly arranged, enlarged, and improved, with a system of notation of seven character notes. Mountain Valley, Va.[near Harrisonburg] : The authors, 1851. 322 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2117 .F95 C5 1851
-
Funk, Joseph, comp.
- Harmonia sacra; being a compilation of genuine church music, comprising a great variety of metres, all harmonized for three voices. Together with a copious explication of the principles of vocal music. Exemplified and illustrated with tables in a plain and comprehensive manner. 9th edition. Mountain Valley, Va., [near Harrisonburg] : Published by the authors, 1858. 360 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2117 .F95 C5 1858
-
Funk, Joseph, comp.
- Harmonia sacra; being a compilation of genuine church music; comprising a great variety of metres, all harmonized for three voices, together with a copious explication of the science of vocal music. Exemplified in a plain and comprehensive manner. 10th edition. Singer's Glen, Rockingham Co., Va.: 1860. 360 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2117 .F95 C5 1860
-
Funk, Joseph, comp.
- Harmonia sacra; being a compilation of genuine church music; comprising a great variety of metres, all harmonized for three voices. Together with a copious explication of the principles of vocal music. Exemplified and illustrated with tables in a plain and comprehensive manner. By Joseph Funk & Sons. 11th edition. Singer's Glen, Rockingham Co., Va.: Joseph Funk's Sons; Bremen, Ohio: H. B. Brenneman, 1866. 360 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2117 .F95 C5 1866
-
Funk, Joseph, comp.
- Harmonia sacra; being a compilation of genuine church music; comprising a great variety of metres, all harmonized for four voices, together with a copious explication of the principles of vocal music. Exemplified and illustrated with tables in a plain and comprehensive manner. By Joseph Funk and Sons. 12th edition. Singer's Glen, Rockingham Co., Va.: Joseph Funk's Sons, 1867. 360 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2117 .F95 C5 1867
-
Funk, Joseph, comp.
- The Harmonia Sacra; a compilation of genuine church music, comprising a great variety of metres, harmonized for four voices, together with a copious explication of the principles of vocal music. Exemplified and illustrated with tables, in a plain and comprehensive manner. By Joseph Funk and Sons. 13th edition. Singer's Glen, Rockingham Co., Va.: Joseph Funk's Sons, 1869. 360 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2117 .F95 C5 1869
-
Funk, Joseph, comp.
- The New Harmonia Sacra; a compilation of genuine church music, comprising a great variety of metres, harmonized for four voices. Together with a copious explication of the principles of vocal music. 15th edition. Singer's Glen, Va.: Glen Publishing Co., printers, 1876. 360 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2117 .F9 1876
-
Funk, Joseph, comp.
- The New Harmonia Sacra; a compilation of genuine church music, comprising a great variety of metres, harmonized for four voices. 18th edition. Scottdale, Pa.: Mennonite Publishing House, 1915. 354 [18] p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2117 .F95 C5 1915
-
Hall, Jacob Henry.
- Crowning day, no. 2; a collection of gospel songs for Sunday schools, revivals, young people's meetings, etc. By J. H. Hall, J. H. Ruebush, and A. S. Kieffer [and] associate authors. [Dayton, Va.: Ruebush-Kieffer Co., 1896]. 255, [1] p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2193 .H19 C66 1896
-
Hall, Jacob Henry.
- Crowning day, no. 5; contains a superior collection of gospel songs for Sunday school, revival meetings, young people's meetings, and all other services of the sanctuary. By J. H. Hall, W. H. Ruebush, and J. H. Ruebush. Dayton, Va.: Ruebush-Kieffer Co., c1902. 129 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2193 .H19 C7 1902
-
Hall, Jacob Henry.
- Fountain of praise; for Sunday schools, prayer, praise, and revival meetings. By J. H. Hall, John McPherson, and J. H. Ruebush. [Dayton, Va] : Ruebush-Kieffer Co., c1892. 128 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2193 .H19 F6 1892
-
Hall, Jacob Henry.
- The sacred hymnal; for the church, prayer meetings, young people's meetings, Sunday schools, revivals, and religious meetings of all kinds. By J. H. Hall, J. H. Ruebush, and W. H. Ruebush. [Dayton, Va.] : The Ruebush- Kieffer Co., c1899. 144 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2193 .H19 S3 1899
-
Hall, Jacob Henry, ed.
- Sacred melodies; a book of gospel songs for all departments of Christian work and worship. Dayton, Va.: Ruebush-Kieffer Co., c1913. 160 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2193 .H19 S3 1913
-
Hall, Jacob Henry.
- Songs of life and light; contains a superior collection of gospel songs and hymns for Sunday schools, evangelistic work, revival meetings, young people's societies, and all other services of the sanctuary. By J. H. Hall, W. H. Ruebush, and J. H. Ruebush. Special contributors McD. Weams and J. S. Rushing. Dayton, Va.: The Ruebush-Kieffer Co., c1909. 160 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2193 .H19 S6 1909
-
Hall, Jacob Henry, comp.
- Sunlight of praise; especially compiled for the Sunday school, young people's meeting, church service, and home circle. By J. H. Hall, W. H. Ruebush, and J. H. Ruebush. Dayton, Va.: The Ruebush-Kieffer Co., c1906. 80 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2193 .H19 S9 1906
-
The Harmonist;
- being a collection of tunes from the most approved authors; adapted to every variety of metre in the Methodist hymnbook. And, for particular occasions, a selection of anthems, pieces, and sentences. New edition, in patent notes, revised and greatly enlarged. New York, N.Y.: T. Mason & G. Lane for the Methodist Episcopal church, 1837. xiv p., 1 1., 384 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2127 .H28 1837
-
The Harmonist;
- being a collection of tunes from the most approved authors; adapted to every variety of metre in the Methodist hymnbook. And, for particular occasions, a selection of anthems, set pieces, and sentences. New edition, in patent notes - revised and greatly enlarged. New York, N. Y.: G. Lane & L. Scott, 1848. xiv, 384 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2127 .H3 1848
-
Hauser, William, comp.
- The olive leaf; a collection of beautiful tunes, new and old; the whole of one or more hymns accompanying each tune. [Philadelphia: Paul M. Kildare], c1878. 390 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2117 .H38 1878
-
Hendrickson, George, comp.
- The union harmony; or a choice collection of psalm tunes, hymns, and anthems, on a new system of musical notation, in three parts. Selected from the most eminent authors, and well adapted to Christian churches, singing schools, and private societies. 2nd edition. Mountain Valley, Va.: Joseph Funk, 1850. 168 p. music.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2117 .H45 U5 1850
-
Hendrickson, George, comp.
- The union harmony; or a choice collection of psalm tunes, hymns, and anthems, in three parts. Selected from the most eminent authors, and well adapted to Christian churches, singing schools, and private societies. 3rd edition. Mountain Valley, Va.: Joseph Funk and Sons, 1855. 200 p. music.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2117 .H45 U5 1855
-
Hickok, John Hoyt, comp.
- The sacred harp containing part first, a clear compendium of the rules and principles of vocal music. Part second, a collection of the most approved church tunes...with a large number of select hymns... Part third, a collection of popular airs, and devotional hymns... Lewistown, Pa.: Printed by Shugart & Cummings, 1832. 141 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2193 .H52 S3 1832
-
Hildebrand, E. T.
- Garden of song; a collection of sacred songs adapted to the various needs of the Sunday school, church, and Christian work generally. By E. T. Hildebrand [and others]. Basic. Va.: Hildebrand-Burnett Co., 1917. 110 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2193 .H55 1917
-
Hildebrand, E. T., ed.
- Song service and revival no. 2; a collection of songs and hymns suitable for revivals, Sabbath schools, and gospel services generally. By E. T. Hildebrand and W. E. Burnett. Contributing editors Wm. J. Kirpatrick and J. H. Fillmore. Basic, Va.: Hildebrand-Burnett Co., 1915. 158 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2198 .H5 1915
-
Kieffer, Aldine Silliman, ed.
- The royal proclamation; Edited by Aldine S. Kieffer and William B. Blake. Dayton, Va.: Ruebush, Kieffer & Co., [c1886]. 184 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 1994 .K6 1886
-
Kieffer, Aldine Silliman, ed.
- Sharon's dewy rose; a collection of new music and hymns for the use of Sabbath-schools, prayer meetings, and special occasions. By Aldine S. Kieffer and J. H. Tenney. Dayton, Va.: Ruebush, Kieffer & Co., 1880. 80 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2193 .K54 1880
-
Kieffer, Aldine Silliman, ed.
- The starry crown; for the Sabbath school. Singer's Glen, Va.: Ruebush, Kieffer, [1874]. 111 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2193 .K57 1874
-
Kieffer, Aldine Silliman, ed.
- The starry crown; for the Sabbath school. 3rd edition. Singer's Glen, Rockingham Co., Va.: Ruebush, Kieffer, 1875. 111 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2193 .K57 1875
-
Kieffer, Aldine Silliman, ed.
- The temple star; for singing-schools, conventions, choirs, day-schools, and musical societies. Containing a theoretical statement of the principles of vocal music, by B. C. Unseld... Glees and songs for the singing-school, Sabbath--school music, hymn tunes, anthems, and chants. Singer's Glen, Va.: Ruebush, Kieffer & Co., 1878, c1877. 183, [1] p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2117 .K44 T4 1878
-
Kieffer, Aldine Silliman, ed.
- The temple star; for singing schools, conventions,choirs, day-schools, and musical societies. Containing a theoretical statement of the principles of vocal music, by B. C. Unseld... Glees and songs for the singing school, Sabbath-school music, hymn tunes, anthems, and chants. Dayton, Va.: Ruebush, Kieffer & Co., 1886, c1877. 183, [1] p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2117 .K44 T4 1886
-
Kieffer, Aldine Silliman, ed.
- The Zion songster no. 1; for Sabbath schools. Dayton, Va.: Ruebush, Kieffer & Co., [c1885]. various paging.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2193 .K55 1885
-
Kieffer, Aldine Silliman, ed. The Zion songster no. 2;
- for Sabbath schools.Dayton, Va.: Ruebush, Kieffer & Co., [1887]. 64 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2193 .K55 1887
-
Little, William.
- The easy instructor; or, a new method of teaching sacred harmony. Containing, I. The rudiments of music on an improved plan... II. A choice collection of psalm tunes and anthems... By William Little and William Smith. Albany: Printed by Websters & Skinners and D. Steele, [1812]. 112 p.
- CALL NUMBER: MT 50 .L6 1812
-
Little, William.
- The easy instructor; or, a new method of teaching sacred harmony. Containing, I. The rudiments of music on an improved plan... II. A choice collection of psalm tunes and anthems... By William Little and William Smith. At head of title: Revised and enlarged edition. Albany: Printed for Websters & Skinners and D. Steele, by Packard & Benthuysen, printers, [1818]. 127, [1] p.
- CALL NUMBER: MT 50 .L6 1818
-
Little, William.
- The easy instructor; or, a new method of teaching sacred harmony. Containing, I. The rudiments of music on an improved plan... II. A choice collection of psalm tunes and anthems... By William Little and William Smith. At head of title: Revised and enlarged edition. Albany: Printed by Websters & Skinners and Oliver Steele, 1831. 135, [l] p.
- CALL NUMBER: MT 50 .L6 1831
-
Maynard, Ezekiel, comp.
- A new selection of sacred music; containing psalm and hymn tunes, chants, doxologies, and anthems, from the works of the most approved authors, both ancient and modern: comprising nearly the whole of the popular melodies which are used in the different churches in the United States; also including the rudiments of music, in a concise and comprehensive manner for the use of schools or private instruction on a new and improved plan. Baltimore: Printed for the author by J. Robinson, printer, [1823?]. 151, [1] p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2117 .M38 1823
-
Moore, J. L.
- Crowning vocalist; for singing classes, conventions, and all societies of musical and religious endeavor. By J. L. Moore, S. J. Perry, S. L. Howard, and J. M. York. With rudiments and notation by A. J. Showalter. Dalton, Ga.: The A. J. Showalter Co., [1894]. unpaged.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2193 .M6 1894
-
Oslin, Stephen Jesse.
- Pearls of truth; in song for Sabbath schools prayer, and praise meetings. By Rev. S. J. Oslin and L. G. McClendon, assisted by Jas. H. Ruebush. Dayton, Va.: Ruebush, Kieffer, c1890. 111 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2193 .O8 P4 1890
-
Oslin, Stephen Jesse, ed.
- The revival tide; a collection of sacred,soul-stirring songs designed for us in revival meetings, Sunday schools, Epworth leagues, and all societies of Christian Endeavor. Written and compiled by S. J. Oslin, J. S. Torbett, [and others]. Dayton, Va.: The Ruebush-Kieffer Co., c1898. unpaged.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2198 .O76 R4 1898
-
Oslin, Stephen Jesse, ed.
- Zion's march; an excellent and varied collection of songs, hymns, and anthems, for use in Sabbath-schools, singing-schools, musical societies, choirs, and all meetings of Christian endeavor. Edited by Rev. S. J. Oslin, C. J.Miller, and J. H. Talley, with Samuel J. Myers as special contributor. Fort Smith, Ark.: Tempo Music Co., [1892]. 127 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2193 .O8 Z5 1892
-
Ruebush, James Hott.
- Choice selections, from Crowning day nos. 1, 2, and 3, and Sacred Hymnal;; especially adapted for revivals, camp-meetings, Chautaquas, Sunday-schools, young people's meetings, and all religious services. By J. H. Ruebush, J. H. Hall, and W. H. Ruebush. Dayton, Va.: The Ruebush-Kieffer Co., [19_ ?]. 250 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2193 .R8 C4 1900z
-
Ruebush, James Hott.
- The crowning day; a varied collection of sacred songs for all occasions, especially for evangelistic work, for the Sabbath-school, and the prayer meeting. Dayton, Va.: The Ruebush-Kieffer Co., [1894]. 128 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2193 .R82 1894
-
Ruebush, James Hott.
- Songs for children.; Compiled by J. H. Ruebush, J. H. Hall, and W. H. Ruebush. Dayton, Va.: Ruebush- Kieffer Co., c1906. unpaged.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2193 .R84 1906
-
Ruebush, James Hott.
- Songs of redeeming love; for the church, Sunday school, and other services of the sanctuary by J. H. Ruebush, J. Owen Long, W. M. Weekley, and Will H. Ruebush. Dayton, Va: The Ruebush-Kieffer Co., c1915. 128 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2193 .R86 1915
-
Ruebush, William Howe.
- Praise and glory; contains a choice collection of sacred songs for Sunday schools, evangelistic work, revival meetings, young peoples societies, and all religious work. Edited by W. H. Ruebush, S. W. Beazley, and James H. Ruebush. Dayton, Va.: The Ruebush-Kieffer Co., c1920. 148 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2193 .R89 1920
-
Rushing, Julius S.
- Gospel gems; a collection of songs compiled for revivals, Sunday schools, and all gatherings where gospel songs are used. By Rev. J. S. Rushing, J. H. Ruebush, and W. H. Ruebush. Dayton, Va.: The Ruebush-Kieffer Co., [1915?]. 148 songs.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2193 .R87 G6 1915
-
Selle, R. L.
- Choicest gems; for Sabbath-schools, revivals & etc. Dayton, Va.: Ruebush-Kieffer Co.; Fort Worth, Tex.: R. L. Selle, [c1893]. 95 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2193 .S4 C4 1893
-
Showalter, J. Henry.
- Psalms, hymns & spiritual songs; for church Sunday school, and all societies of religious and musical endeavor. By J. Henry Showalter and Geo. B. Holsinger. Assisted by Miss Sarah C. Leatherman, W. K. Franklin, J. C. Beahm, W. P. Davidson, S. E. Duncan, and S. J. Perry. Knoxville, Tenn.; Bridgewater, Va.: Showalter, Holsinger & Co., 1893. [1] 1., 184 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2117 .S54 1893
-
Steffy, J. W., comp.
- The Valley harmonist; containing a collection of tunes & hymns from approved authors - adapted to the worship of religious denominations. Winchester, Va. : Printed by Robinson & Hollis, 1836. 165, [1] p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2117 .S9 1836
-
Steffy, J. W., comp.
- The Valley harmonist; containing a collection of tunes from the most approved authors - adapted to a variety of metres. Also - a selection of set pieces and anthems. 2nd edition - revised, enlarged, and improved. Harrisonburg, Va.: Henry T. Wartmann, printer, 1845. li, 53-333, [3] p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2117 .S9 1845
-
Steffy, J. W., comp.
- The Valley harmonist; containing a collection of tunes from the most approved authors, adapted to a variety of metres. Also - a selection of set pieces and anthems. 2nd edition - revised, enlarged, and improved. Harrisonburg, Va.: Henry T. Wartmann, printer, 1845. 336 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2117 .S9 1845a
-
Tenney, John Harrison.
- The shining light; a varied collection of sacred songs for Sabbath-schools, social meetings, and the home circle. By J. H. Tenney and Aldine S. Kieffer. Dayton, Rockingham Co., Va.: Ruebush Kieffer & Co.; Philadelphia: J. M. Armstrong & Co., [1879]. 160 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M2193 .T4 1879
-
Tenney, John Harrison.
- Sweet fields of Eden; for the Sabbath school.By J. H. Tenney, Aldine S. Kieffer, and Wm. B. Blake. Dayton, Rockingham Co., Va.: Ruebush, Kieffer, 1882. 128 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2193 .T43 1882
-
Walker, William, comp.
- The Christian harmony; in the seven-syllable character note system of music... hymn and psalm tunes, odes, and anthems.. original edition, greatly enlarged. Philadelphia: E. W. Miller Co., [1901]. xix, 20-384 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2117 .W18 1901
-
Walker, William, comp.
- The Southern and Western pocket harmonist; intended as an appendix to The Southern harmony; embracing the principal hymns, songs, choruses, and revival tunes... to which is prefixed a concise introductory to the grounds of music. Philadelphia: Thomas, Cowperthwait & Co., 1846. 160 p. music.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2117 .W18 S55 1846
-
Walker, William, comp.
- The southern harmony, and musical companion; containing a choice collection of tunes, hymns, songs, odes, and anthems, selected from the most eminent authors in the United States. Together with nearly one hundred new tunes, which have never before been published. New edition, thouroughly revised and much enlarged. Philadelphia: E. W. Miller, [1854]. xxxii, 336 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2117 .W18 S5 1854
-
Weekley, William Marion.
- Revival echoes, no. 3.; By W. M. Weekley, J. H. Ruebush, and J. H. Hall. Dayton, Va.: The Ruebush-Kieffer Co., c1905. 85 songs.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2198 .W42 1905
-
Weekley, William Marion.
- Revival echoes (revised and enlarged); a collection of songs for every department of worship and suitable for services of the church. Edited by W. M. Weekley, Rev. J. A. Campbell, J. H. Ruebush, W. H. Ruebush, and J. H. Hall. Dayton, Va.: The Ruebush-Kieffer Co., 1908. 128 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2198 .W4 1908
-
[White, Benjamin Franklin].
- "Original sacred harp" (Denson revision); the best collection of sacred songs, hymns, odes, and anthems ever offered the singing public for general use. Haleyville, Ala.: Sacred Harp Publishing Co., Inc., 1936. 461, [3] p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2117 .W58 D4 1936
-
[White, Benjamin Franklin].
- "Original sacred harp"; revised, corrected, and enlarged. Standard melodies. Atlanta, Ga.: Ruralist Press, I 929. Vi. 550 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2117 .W58 J3 1929
-
Wyeth, John.
- Repository of sacred music; selected from the most eminent and approved authors in that science, for the use of Christian churches of every denomination, singing schools, and private societies. Together with a plain and concise introduction to the grounds of music, and rules for learners. 5th edition. Harrisburg, Pa.: John Wyeth, 1823. 131 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 1999 .W9 1823
-
Wyeth, John.
- (Wyeth's) repository of sacred music.; Part second (2nd edition); original and selected from the most eminent and approved authors in that science, for the use of Christian churches, singing schools, and private societies. Harrisburgh, Pa.: Printed (typographically) by John Wyeth, printer and bookseller, and sold by him; Baltimore: Schaffer & Mound; New York: Collins & Co., 1820. 132 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2116 .W95 R3 1820
-
Wyeth, John.
- Wyeth's repository of sacred music; selected from the most eminent and approved authors in that science, for the use of Christian churches of every denomination, singing schools, and private societies. Together with a plain and concise introduction to the grounds of music, and rules for learners. Stereotype edition, enlarged and improved. Harrisburg, Pa.: John Wyeth; Philadelphia: Carey & Lee, 144 p.
- CALL NUMBER: M 2116 W95 R3 1826
Compiled by Mary Bhame Pope April 1980